User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-23-2013, 11:25 AM   #1
sailah OP
Lampin' it

Oddometer: 5,362
Powder coating my junk

Figured I would start a thread about the actual process of powder coating. I have this in my build thread but figured it would have appeal to a much wider audience.

First off, I am not a professional in even the loosest sense of the word. In fact, today was the first time I had ever done it other than the 2 hours class I took 2 nights ago.

I've done a bunch of reading, listening and watching youtube videos so I dove in today to coat the swingarm from a KTM that is going on my project bike. I'm doing this at Tech Shop so I understand most people don't have a 6' tall oven and spray booth, all the more reason to check them out if you live in an area that has one. They have some sweet tools other than powdercoating like the waterjet...

Started off with some industrial degreaser the stuff you aren't supposed to use on aluminum because it etches. Purple power or similar.

Then I used EZ OFF oven cleaner (lye) in case there was anodizing, not sure that there was. Or even if it makes a difference.

Cleaned thoroughly and then it went into the oven for a degassing session. I read that cast aluminum parts need to be degassed which basically means you up the temp 25% over the baking temp, so I went to 500 degrees for the degassing, it's supposed to bake at 380 for 23 minutes.

Nice

Then it went back into the sandblaster to clean anything else off, then degreased again and back in the oven to dry. It's now cooling off and I will mask the surfaces and shoot it.

I'm using Harley Davidson textured black which is a matte wrinkle finish. I tested some panels of aluminum and it comes out awesome. It feels like the rough black on a keyboard for example. Here's my test piece with one coat

The booth

The swinger with powder on it