ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2013, 12:49 PM   #1
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Powering Montana cable question

Ok I cannot find it but seems like it should available somewhere. I am looking for a power cable to power my Montana, I want the mini usb plug on one end and the connector that comes with the Battery Tenders with a male female side by side in rubber. I would prefer a setup to adding 12v outlet to my DR650.
Thanks guys
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:06 PM   #2
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,796
You really ought to just use the AMPS mount. The USB plug just doesn't stand up to a lot of use.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:41 PM   #3
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Amps mount

Would be fine for 1 bike but I want to use the Montana on several bikes.
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:49 PM   #4
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpillis View Post
Would be fine for 1 bike but I want to use the Montana on several bikes.
USB is a very bad idea on one bike but I don't have a good word for how much worse of an idea it would be on several bikes.

Read up on this. One poor guy fried his GPS with a USB cable then pluged in a second one and fried it to!
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:53 PM   #5
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpillis View Post
Would be fine for 1 bike but I want to use the Montana on several bikes.
Not sure why you think that, but the AMPS mount works fine for multiple bikes. I switch back and forth between bikes all the time,. It wouldn't be any different using a USB cable then it is the AMPS. In fact, mine is terminated with an SAE plug just like you're wanting.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 01:54 PM   #6
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Not sure why you think that, but the AMPS mount works fine for multiple bikes. I switch back and forth between bikes all the time,. It wouldn't be any different using a USB cable then it is the AMPS. In fact, mine is terminated with an SAE plug just like you're wanting.
+1

get an Amps mount, a ram ball and put whatever connector you want at the end of the amps wire.
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:32 PM   #7
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Ok where

Ok where can I get the type of connector that Battery Tenders use? I would like to go to a AMPS if I can move it easily. I also want to use the connector on the bike to trickle charge battery. Thanks for the help guys.
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 02:38 PM   #8
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpillis View Post
Ok where can I get the type of connector that Battery Tenders use? I would like to go to a AMPS if I can move it easily. I also want to use the connector on the bike to trickle charge battery. Thanks for the help guys.
errr... did you try amazon?

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...=sae+connector
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:10 PM   #9
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Thanks

Those are what I am looking for. I notice the AMP mount has 4 wires + audio, hook up +and - to sae connector. Do I need the other 2 wires? If so what are they for?
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:13 PM   #10
christian
Exchange your GPS Track!
 
christian's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Redwood City, CA
Oddometer: 2,633
sorry to say but you really need to start using google...
http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/Mo...str_web_ML.pdf
__________________
KTM 950 ADV '05.5
KTM 690 '10
christian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:41 PM   #11
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Thanks again

Not sure what to say to that other than I have been Binging all kinda stuff trying to figure out wiring for my bikes.
Thanks for the link answers a lot of my questions.
I have an LT with a Baehr comm system and I am upgrading GPS from a 2630 to Montana. Bike is wired for 2630 so I am going to be doing some splicing. Only problem is the audio cable on bike is a very small pin size.
Again thanks
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 03:54 PM   #12
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by christian View Post
sorry to say but you really need to start using google...
http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/Mo...str_web_ML.pdf
Don't you mean the Google ...?
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:24 PM   #13
mpillis OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Union, Ky.
Oddometer: 309
Ok I did it

I ordered the AMPS mount and a bunch of cables and adaptors.
Thanks again guys.
__________________
Marc from Union, Ky
MSF RiderCoach
2005 K1200LT
2004 R1150GS Adventure
2013 DR650
mpillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 05:32 PM   #14
rpet
Awesometown
 
rpet's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Brooklyn, California
Oddometer: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpillis View Post
Not sure what to say to that other than I have been Binging all kinda stuff
there's you problem.

j/k man
__________________
'76 Xl250 '04 XR250R '09 DR650 '10 TR450
Ride The West - OBDR, CDR & western TAT - July 2013
Instagram with plenty of bike pics.
Read my homie's underway Africa trip RR - Round Africa with a Surboard
WTB: Clarke tank for DR650 for cheap - any color but blue.
rpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 06:49 PM   #15
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,209
+1



google usually gets me where I want to go
like a good old paper map

bing sometimes gets me where I want to go.
kind like the Montana in that respect I suppose I kid I kid
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014