ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 05:28 AM   #1
jwnsc OP
Hang in there.
 
jwnsc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: The Iodine State
Oddometer: 328
Disappearing Via Points on the TAT

I recentlly downloaded the eastern portion of the Trans America Trail
into my Garmin Zumo 665 from the hard copy maps I bought and utilizing
the Mapsource software. Everything was fine (not counting the variances
from the maps and the roll charts) except that in Mississippi half of the
via points, and thus that portion of the route disappeared. When I got
home I looked at the route on my laptop and all the via points were
still there.

The route in question was 302 miles long with 391 via points.
What happened when I transferred the route from my laptop to the GPS?
Is there a limit to the number of via points or the route miles a GPS
will accept? The waypoints were all still there so going from waypoint
to waypoint reconstructed the route Just wondering what happened
to the via points.
__________________
"The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees
what he has come to see." G.K. Chesterton

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-
mindedness." Mark Twain
jwnsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 09:52 AM   #2
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwnsc View Post
The route in question was 302 miles long with 391 via points.
There's a 50 via point limit.
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 01:49 PM   #3
jwnsc OP
Hang in there.
 
jwnsc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: The Iodine State
Oddometer: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
There's a 50 via point limit.
50? The other downloaded TAT routes for TN, AR and OK all had
over 50 and less than 200 with no problems. I was thinking 200
might be the limit.
__________________
"The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees
what he has come to see." G.K. Chesterton

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-
mindedness." Mark Twain
jwnsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 03:13 AM   #4
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,685
Did you have via points on one, and waypoints on the other?

For the future, with a 665, you can do tracks. They don't change or disappear.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:06 AM   #5
jwnsc OP
Hang in there.
 
jwnsc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: The Iodine State
Oddometer: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
Did you have via points on one, and waypoints on the other?

For the future, with a 665, you can do tracks. They don't change or disappear.
Man, this GPS jargon - tracks, via points, waypoints.... I thought I track
was something you left behind as you travelled, while a route was something
that told you where to go.

On Mapsource I would start a route with a waypoint and then place via points
along the roads designated as the TAT route by the paper maps. I would also place a waypoint at an important intersection or POI on the route. A brightly-colored line connected the via points or waypoints as I placed them, creating the route. On the longer route of over 200 via points, only the waypoints were displayed on the Zumo after approximately half the route was traversed. The via points and the brightly-colored line connecting them disappeared. They still appear on my laptop but not on the Zumo.
For the western half, maybe I should use Basecamp!
__________________
"The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees
what he has come to see." G.K. Chesterton

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-
mindedness." Mark Twain
jwnsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:28 AM   #6
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,793
Navigating with tracks will eliminate all the voodoo nonsense associated with routes.

If you are using Mapsource to make routes, you can use the 3rd party software WinGDB3 to convert the routes to tracks.

Or if you use Basecamp, you can do the conversion right there.

I strongly recommend that you do this conversion even if you think you've got all the tricks related to routing figured out. You will have the tracks as a backup if and probably when something goes wrong with using routes.

You then just send the tracks to your GPS. On most newer units you have to select the track and hit the "Show on map" option.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:37 PM   #7
jwnsc OP
Hang in there.
 
jwnsc's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: The Iodine State
Oddometer: 328
I guess my first mistake was contacting Garmin Tech Support when I
had issues with Mapsource and they emailed me a step by step procedure
to create routes and download them to the Zumo. To be fair, they did
mention that Mapsource was no longer supported and Basecamp might
be a better way to go, but I don't recall the word "track" ever being
mentioned.
__________________
"The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees
what he has come to see." G.K. Chesterton

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-
mindedness." Mark Twain
jwnsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014