User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-17-2013, 06:11 PM   #1
wvdirtbiker OP
MILES2GO

Oddometer: 211
Old Dirtbiker

I have been thinking long and hard about doing a post here but my friend wvridgerider who was with me at the time of the incident encouraged me to do a post.

A little background, I have been riding and racing dirt bikes for 46 of my 67 years without so much as a broken bone and no injury that would be considered serious.

I got rid of my dirt bike (1996 XR-280) about six years ago (just before I retired) and picked up a low mileage, well farkled DR-650.

I do not consider the DR to be a woods bike and only used it for back roads and gravel roads. I've ridden it about 25,000 miles in the 5+ years I have had it.

I have made some new riding friends thru ADV and about 3 weeks ago, I met wvridgerider and his friend Bob at Richwood, WV for a great 100 mile off road ride.
Since wvridgerider was off all week, we made plans to meet later in the week at Mahan, WV for some mostly single track riding. Another rider, tdrrider joined us for the ride.
As wvridgerider was putting on his shin/knee guards, I commented about that being a good idea. I led the ride since I was the only one familiar with that area.
We had just crossed over to the RT 61 side of the mountain and turned on a fairly tight ATV trail around the head of Johnson Branch.

I was in first gear at about 12 or 14 mph when I flet a huge impact on my lower right leg which caused me to fall on my left side.

The other two riders came running over and asked me if I was OK. I knew something was wrong and when we pulled my pants leg out of my boot, we couldn't believe what we saw.

I had hit a hidden backward facing stick that contacted my leg about 4" below my knee and at the outside edge of my shin bone.