ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2014, 06:18 PM   #1
47cdc OP
Adventurer
 
47cdc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Santa Fe NM
Oddometer: 28
Garman Basecamp - Waypoint Planning

Was wondering if there is an easy way to mark a waypoint in Basecamp before starting a trip. For example, if someone suggests a good restaurant is there an easier way to mark it as a waypoint than zooming around on the map and guessing where to drop the flag?
47cdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 02:17 PM   #2
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47cdc View Post
Was wondering if there is an easy way to mark a waypoint in Basecamp before starting a trip. For example, if someone suggests a good restaurant is there an easier way to mark it as a waypoint than zooming around on the map and guessing where to drop the flag?
You could always use the search function in Basecamp to find the restaurant by name, or you could also do a search on the address. In both cases you can then create a waypoint.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 09:58 AM   #3
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by marco polo View Post
You could always use the search function in Basecamp to find the restaurant by name, or you could also do a search on the address. In both cases you can then create a waypoint.
Actually the Search must be done on a Map that has the data (City Nav) it has nothing to do with BaseCamp which does not have any data.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 10:06 AM   #4
marco polo
Studly Adventurer
 
marco polo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria VA and Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Actually the Search must be done on a Map that has the data (City Nav) it has nothing to do with BaseCamp which does not have any data.
Thought that would be bloody obvious.
marco polo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 10:31 AM   #5
byways
byways
 
byways's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Idaho
Oddometer: 2,033
I frequently do this by first making a place mark of the exact location in Google Earth (you can do a search of the full address, in the "search" box).

Then copy the coordinates from that placemark into the "Find coordinates" command in BC.

Then click on the option to make a waypoint.

Best to double check that it's right by then selecting the waypoint in BC, open GE, and choose to view it in Google Earth through the "View" menu.

Not as complex as this sounds. Just a few steps.

You also could save the GE placemark as a KML file, then just import the KML file into your BC map.
byways is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014