ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 06:17 PM   #1
afmeyer OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Oddometer: 67
Routes or Tracks

I am planning to ride along the driving route directions you can get for the Oregon Trail on the NPS website. My GPS is an old Garmin Quest2 with CN2008 and I'll use Basecamp. I'm waiting for the Monterra to arrive. But for now, am I better off to make a track or a route? What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?
afmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 07:49 PM   #2
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by afmeyer View Post
I am planning to ride along the driving route directions you can get for the Oregon Trail on the NPS website. My GPS is an old Garmin Quest2 with CN2008 and I'll use Basecamp. I'm waiting for the Monterra to arrive. But for now, am I better off to make a track or a route? What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?
I don't think the Quest 2 is much different from the original Quest, but I could not get my Quest to show uploaded tracks at all.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 04:51 AM   #3
afmeyer OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Oddometer: 67
But, why would you want to use tracks? Is it because the recalculation prompt? Basecamp knows that I'm using CN2008. So then why am I prompted to recalculate. Is that's the issue?

afmeyer screwed with this post 07-19-2013 at 04:52 AM Reason: edit
afmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:02 AM   #4
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by afmeyer View Post
But, why would you want to use tracks? Is it because the recalculation prompt? Basecamp knows that I'm using CN2008. So then why am I prompted to recalculate. Is that's the issue?
There was an event I was participating in distributing tracks of the trails we were to follow.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:10 AM   #5
afmeyer OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Oddometer: 67
Why in a more general sense would you want to create tracks rather than routes of the proposed ride you were planning?
afmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 05:54 AM   #6
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by afmeyer View Post
Why in a more general sense would you want to create tracks rather than routes of the proposed ride you were planning?
Perhaps no roads go where you want to go, or maybe somebody has gone there already and shared their track.

There are good reasons for tracks, but my original point was that there's no reason to even think of creating tracks, or uploading someone else's to the Quest line because they can't use tracks that way.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:41 AM   #7
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by afmeyer View Post
But, why would you want to use tracks?
Not a matter of wanting to, more of a matter of being forced to.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 07:56 AM   #8
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,826
I vote for tracks if your unit can display them.

I guess it is possible to get routes to work, but in 12 years and several thousand miles of off-road riding each year I have never been able to get routes to work the way I would like them to.

I don't have the time to list all the problems I have had with routes.

But the best thing to do is to do some trial runs with both and see which you like.

The worst thing to do is to choose routes and then start off on the trip without tracks as a backup.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 10:43 PM   #9
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by afmeyer View Post
I am planning to ride along the driving route directions you can get for the Oregon Trail on the NPS website. My GPS is an old Garmin Quest2 with CN2008 and I'll use Basecamp. I'm waiting for the Monterra to arrive. But for now, am I better off to make a track or a route? What are the advantages/disadvantages of each?
Like many above I only use tracks for dirt riding. However a few years ago I followed he Santa Fe trail driving home from Missoiuri. I made a waypoint for every monument I could find along the trail plus a few forced routes. Then made a route for about each day and followed them with a Nuvi. Worked great.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:23 PM   #10
R-dubb
Dubbious Adventurer
 
R-dubb's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Oddometer: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
The worst thing to do is to choose routes and then start off on the trip without tracks as a backup.
R-dubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 05:51 PM   #11
basketcase
lifelong reject fixer
 
basketcase's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Fading...
Oddometer: 1,367
IMHO, except for gaining a mental map of the general line of travel routes are over rated.

On a couple of occasions I've seen the Garmin software route up an exit ramp, across the road at the top, and down the on-ramp to put the rider right back on the interstate -- except 3 minutes behind where he would have been had he stayed on the interstate and skpped the ramps.

So I vote for tracks and waypoint to waypoint navigation as needed.
__________________
'00 BMW R1100RT, '06 Jeep Wrangler TJ
------------
"The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane." - Marcus Aurelius
basketcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014