ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 09:59 AM   #1
g.mccormick OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
g.mccormick's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: New Whiteland, IN
Oddometer: 147
60csx repair

My 60csx is acting up. It won't turn on most of the time, when it will turn on the buttons won't work. I have to pull the batteries to shut it off. Can these be sent in for repair?
g.mccormick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:16 PM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,204
Check with this company:
http://satnavrepairservice.com/repai...repair/13.html
scroll down to the 60

Don't know anything about them, just found the link in another thread.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:45 AM   #3
Boatman
Ride more, BS less!
 
Boatman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Petersburg, NY and Woodbridge, VA
Oddometer: 10,015
Garmin has an out of warranty repair/exchange.

For $110 they will send you a refurb in exchange for your old unit. Just did it with my 60Cx and a few years ago with a 2610. Both refurb units worked flawlessly and looked brand new.

http://www8.garmin.com/support/outofwarranty.html

Also,,,, if you tell them you need the exchange ASAP,,,, they will send it before you send your old one in for exchange.
__________________
08 KTM 950 SE, 09 KTM 950 SE, 04 KTM 950 ADV, 10 Husaberg FE390, 66 Kawasaki B8S Super 150

Hi/low beam conversions for: Trail Tech, Baja Designs
Boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 07:44 AM   #4
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,830
I had a recurring power problem with my 60cs. I was always able to fix it by opening the unit up and cleaning, bending, and applying dielectric grease to the tabs that coupled power from the battery card to the main processor card. Also cleaned and greased the internal connector for the external power link.

This was easy to do. But I have to admit my symptoms were different. Never had any problems with the buttons. But it might be possible to clean and grease the button contacts too.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:12 PM   #5
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,019
Hold (ENTER) and power it up to get it into a self-test mode.
Bottom-left is an array of circles and 8-way D-pad - Pressing a button fills in the corresponding outline.
Good check of whether or not the problem's with hardware or software.
Also doesn't hurt to check everything else PASSes too.

But as wbbnm said, it could be the contacts inside the unit.



__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014