ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 18 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-27-2013, 05:28 AM   #1
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
4.3 Inch Motorcycle GPS Navigation Systems

For a year there was the
X-ride in Japan.
RM-XR430MC
now also a update
RM-XR432MC
http://www.x-ride.jp/product/rmxr432mc/index.html



BUT this one is for sale now the:

"Rage"

CVUG-TR53





PRICE

http://www.chinavasion.com/china/who...4GB_Bluetooth/

Myway screwed with this post 07-27-2013 at 05:46 AM
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:17 AM   #2
Maggot12
U'mmmm yeaah!!
 
Maggot12's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Barrie Ont
Oddometer: 2,872
Looks interesting.. I bought a few things from chinavision with mixed reviews. A few positive results after researching that gps though. Comes with fm radio..
__________________
Maggot

Don't sweat the petty things; Pet the sweaty things !!!
Maggot12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:24 AM   #3
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maggot12 View Post
Looks interesting.. I bought a few things from chinavision with mixed reviews. A few positive results after researching that gps though. Comes with fm radio..
hope they sell the green ones.

http://cion.us/prelaunch/prelaunch20130605.html
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:35 AM   #4
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
Bought one

Just ordered one with fast shipping. Let's see how it goes.

I'm pretty happy with the 3.5" 'Peaklife' unit I bought earlier (not via Chinavasion, mind, but they do sell that one as well). Hopefully this larger version has a bit higher screen brightness, though.
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:04 AM   #5
WunderfulLusterful
Banned
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Oddometer: 24
I am American so therefore I cannot be bother to read or do research. Do these unit have their own mapping software or will they accept Garmin formats for routes and such? I like the big screen for sure.

For that price it is worth trying out!
WunderfulLusterful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 10:25 AM   #6
Riteris
Dessert Runner
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: A place many ADV Riders fear: The Nation's Capital
Oddometer: 2,836
I would imagine the restaurants listed in the database would be fairly minimal in selection.

The toilet database would be the opposite. Just squat anywhere, like they do in China.

I wonder if it lists all those prisons we hear about?

The street view in the cities is probably murky, at best. Otherwise the Chinese might get pissed off if they thought they should have a clear view.

On the other hand, the Audi dealer database is probably current.


__________________
Chris

I am taking the advice of all those people that told me, "Hey kid, why don't you go play in traffic!"

Riteris screwed with this post 07-28-2013 at 10:31 AM
Riteris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:26 PM   #7
EmmEff
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Oddometer: 1,585
I'd buy that if it was Android based but it's WinCE. There are third-party nav apps available but I don't have any experience.

It will not take Garmin maps.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
2001 F650GS Dakar
2008 DR-Z 400S
EmmEff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 06:25 AM   #8
webmonstro
A Aventura Continua....
 
webmonstro's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Portugal
Oddometer: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riteris View Post
I would imagine the restaurants listed in the database would be fairly minimal in selection.

The toilet database would be the opposite. Just squat anywhere, like they do in China.

I wonder if it lists all those prisons we hear about?

The street view in the cities is probably murky, at best. Otherwise the Chinese might get pissed off if they thought they should have a clear view.

On the other hand, the Audi dealer database is probably current.


it's wince
so you can install
-Igo8
-Ndrive
-navigon
-GarminXT
-tom tom if you realy try
-rout 66

etc

Can you install that on your overpriced Garmin ?


For off road you can install oziexplorer

grab maps from ggogle
webmonstro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:46 PM   #9
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
Here something about software on the older "Peaklife"

"Rage" same platform

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=697456

look also for Igo Primo.2.x.....for street navigation.
ram 128 is good for primo


It is the gps.
It is the software
It is the Maps
How to combine.

Navteq is the base for several gps manufac............

A faillure in data all navteq gps users are ...................

Myway screwed with this post 08-02-2013 at 07:13 AM
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:57 PM   #10
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
It has arrived

Got the GPS today.

Build quality seems a bit better than Peaklife. The unit is not meant to be opened and the battery is built-in. Screen seems plenty bright, but real outdoors testing will have to wait till I get the mount on my bike. The cradle itself is definitely sturdier than Peaklife, but Peaklife's ball joint was made of metal, this one's plastic. I think I'll mix the parts a bit, screw holes match.

The card slot is very deep and getting the card out requires tools. I used a knife to help pry the damn tiny thing out.

No GPS sw was included nor a micro SD card. iGo Primo fired up fine more than fine, actually; this one's quite snappy performance-wise.

So far so very good. Will mount it tomorrow.
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:05 AM   #11
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
X-ride video set on 1080 p

Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 11:36 AM   #12
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
Me likey

Now that I've got a few rides with the new GPS unit under my belt:
It's actually very good. The screen is bright enough and more than big enough. The resolution is better than on the older Peaklife unit, that's definitely useful to get more details on the map. The cradle is sturdy, but the unit is a bit hard to get out of the cradle, it's such a tight fit I guess that's not entirely a negative, though.

Compared to Peaklife, one small niggle: when external power is cut, this new one doesn't turn off automatically. The PL unit did.

On a related note: turns out iGo 8 gives you more information than iGo Primo from the same map files. For example, you can actually see which roads are paved and which not.
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 12:28 PM   #13
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by silli View Post
It's actually very good. .
Nice can you give how to how you installed it.
What kind of menu?
Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 12:34 PM   #14
Myway OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Myway's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Knobby country
Oddometer: 2,302
Saw this


Myway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 12:52 AM   #15
silli
Into SM
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 17
Installation

Quote:
Nice can you give how to how you installed it.
What kind of menu?
If by installation you mean the physical installation on the bike:
I swapped the included plastic ball joint plate to a metal one from Peaklife. The screw holes are exactly the same, as mentioned above. I then used the female ball joint piece from Peaklife but used a hand rail clamp from the boating section to mount it on the oversized handlebar of my 950sm. I wanted it to sit in the center and neither of the handlebar clamps will fit 'round the beefier center section.

I'm thinking about tossing the ball joint part altogether and screwing the GPS cradle directly to the hand rail clamp. This way it'll look much neater and sit quite a bit lower, closer to the bar. There's no need for adjustments anyway. Only thing stopping me from doing that is that I'd lose the quick way of taking the cradle off the bike (currently I just have to loosen a screw at the side of the lower ball joint piece and disconnect the power cable, no tools required).

If by installation you mean the software setup:
I just used the iGo8 available – ahem – on the internets. The version that came with the Peaklife works, but it only supports the Peaklife's lower resolution. No other installation than copying files to a micro SD card is required. Primo and iGo 8 live happily on the same card, you just have to select which one to run in the settings menu on the GPS. The main menu of the GPS is rather sucky, it has just one icon for navigation (which will launch whatever software you have chosen in the settings) and another for calendar (no use for that). You can hide these icons one by one, but there's no way of adding more as far as I can see. Would be nice to have a separate icons for iGo 8 and Primo, but then again you practically never see the menu because there's a setting for "autorun navigation on startup".

silli screwed with this post 08-12-2013 at 01:33 AM
silli is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014