ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2013, 07:03 PM   #1
bobframe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Northeast GA
Oddometer: 233
Torque wrench with 1/4" to 3/8" adapter

I need to use my 1/4" torque wrench in a situation that requires 11Nm of torque. My wrench's range is from 6-32Nm...so it is my preferred tool since my 3/8" torque wrench's dial begins at 20Nm. I am using it to tighten an oil filter and the oil filter wrench requires either a 3/8" square drive or a 19mm socket, which I only have in 3/8". However, I do have a 1/4" to 3/8" adapter that would allow me to use the 1/4" torque wrench.

Anyone see a problem using a 1/4" torque wrench with such an adapter? Obviously the parts all connect and work...but any reason to doubt the wrench's accuracy with such a setup?

Thanks!
bobframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 07:22 PM   #2
emti
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: northern n.y.
Oddometer: 239
Others may correct me but the only issue I can think of is that if the adapter is of a significant length there would be a loss of torque due to torsional losses? Maybe.... Its been a while. I believe there is a formula to correct the loss? emti
emti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 07:38 PM   #3
KeithinSC
Beastly Adventurer
 
KeithinSC's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Sandhills of SC
Oddometer: 1,348
Torsional loses due to twisting of the adapter would be negligible/non-existent at 11 N-m. That is barely a 'two finger' torque

There is noting to worry about using an adapter, we use them all the time and have no calibration issues.
KeithinSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 07:42 PM   #4
ZEmann
want to be riding
 
ZEmann's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 641
non issue
agreed
ZEmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:23 PM   #5
anotherguy
Banned
 
anotherguy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: the hills
Oddometer: 6,212
Yeah use it without worry.
anotherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:09 PM   #6
Imachimper
Newer than Noob
 
Imachimper's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Oddometer: 129
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...50768961,d.aWc

Page 6. You can use an extension like a torque adaptor(see picture below) at a 90 degree angle. The extension and 1/4 to 3/8 converter will have no affect.


Imachimper screwed with this post 08-16-2013 at 11:15 PM
Imachimper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 12:35 AM   #7
Beezer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage, formerly Spenard (hub of the universe)
Oddometer: 5,571
n o... it's the law...Newton's 3rd law, don't matter how long an extension is in the same plane, it does matter if the lever arm is changed though. Imachimper covered that
Beezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 05:03 AM   #8
bobframe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Northeast GA
Oddometer: 233
Thanks guys!
bobframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:02 AM   #9
damurph
Cold Adventurer
 
damurph's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: The far east of the far east of North America
Oddometer: 1,524
I know I am not as fussy as some but it is an oil filter. Tens of thousands are put on daily and I have personally put on hundreds ....BY HAND.
Don't overdo it on the thinking or the torqueing.
__________________
R1150 GSA, KLR650, K75s, RD350, PS250 (Big Ruckus), R65, 990 Spyder
If I still had every dollar I spent on motorbikes I would be a richer man but a poorer person.
damurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 06:18 AM   #10
pelvis_98
Havin A Time
 
pelvis_98's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Oxford Station, Ontario
Oddometer: 1,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by damurph View Post
I know I am not as fussy as some but it is an oil filter. Tens of thousands are put on daily and I have personally put on hundreds ....BY HAND.
Don't overdo it on the thinking or the torqueing.

I agree.

Putting on a oil filter doesn't have the that perfect a torque. Lots of people tend to over tighten them and then have a hard time getting them off.
pelvis_98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 10:01 AM   #11
DrDaytona
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Eastern Pa-ish
Oddometer: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by damurph View Post
I know I am not as fussy as some but it is an oil filter. Tens of thousands are put on daily and I have personally put on hundreds ....BY HAND.
Don't overdo it on the thinking or the torqueing.
Some filters aren't accessible by hand....in which case, I always recommend people use a torque wrench. Mostly because people do tend to get over zealous and tighten the crap out of them.
DrDaytona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 10:23 AM   #12
damurph
Cold Adventurer
 
damurph's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: The far east of the far east of North America
Oddometer: 1,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDaytona View Post
Some filters aren't accessible by hand....in which case, I always recommend people use a torque wrench. Mostly because people do tend to get over zealous and tighten the crap out of them.
And I agree that people do just this.
Put your oil filter socket onto a 3/8 wratchet and grab it by the head of the wratchet. Spin. When you feel any resistance go a shade further and it is on.
By all means torque every nut and bolt to your hearts content. What procedure do you use on the road??? Sometimes you just have to get a feel for things.
__________________
R1150 GSA, KLR650, K75s, RD350, PS250 (Big Ruckus), R65, 990 Spyder
If I still had every dollar I spent on motorbikes I would be a richer man but a poorer person.
damurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 11:10 AM   #13
bobframe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Northeast GA
Oddometer: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by damurph View Post
Sometimes you just have to get a feel for things.
Completely agree and, in this case, I understand that hand tightening would work fine. But I have a new torque wrench and want an excuse to use it. The wrench's instructions had several warnings about using handle extensions and adapters and it was written in "pig-English"...hard to understand. Just wanted to understand the do's and don'ts of adapters. Thanks for all the help.
bobframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 12:29 PM   #14
Beezer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Anchorage, formerly Spenard (hub of the universe)
Oddometer: 5,571
does it have a floating handle? some beam type wrenches do... the handle pivots on a pin. if so, then the handle has to float during the check... if one of the ends contacts the beam it will be inaccurate. on the other types with solid handles it doesn't matter how you hold it. just an fyi
Beezer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 01:35 PM   #15
bobframe OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Northeast GA
Oddometer: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beezer View Post
does it have a floating handle?
It does not, but thanks for the info. Mine have solid handles like a "normal" ratchet wrench.
bobframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014