ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-17-2013, 06:35 PM   #1
Mile Maker OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 100
HELP with 950 blown motor.

I was hoping that i could draw from the vast knowledge base of the inmates here on Orange Crush.

I am in the market for a KTM twin, My heart wants a new 1190 but my wallet said i should buy used. Recently i was searching some for sale adds and came across a 2006 950 adventure s with a blown engine. Lots of add ons including luggage, mufflers, suspension work, water pump, and many other things. Sounded like this was his baby before she blew. 56 000 km and routinely maintained.

So i got a little interested in this bike. I am a competent mechanic with enough free time on my hands that i should be able to take on a project like this no problem.
I email the guy and try to get some back story. He said he was trying to pass someone when the engine let go. He tore it down and found a toasted con rod bearing. He said everything else internally "was in great shape."

My problem is that i am unfamiliar with the weaknesses of a KTM engine. I did a lot of reading on this forum and a couple of other sites trying to help me figure out if these engines have weak spots that may be the cause of the failure.
I read about a possible oil pump regulator valve issue. If it fails it may cause a low oil pressure issue. Can anyone build on that? explain it further?
The oil is dumped by the regulator and fills up the engine sump and it does not get back into the oil tank properly, causing an oil starvation to the engine?
Is that correct?

Also if i do take on this project, is there anything else i should know about in the engine or inspect?
I would re seal everything and inspect all bearing and gears. Replace what is needed of course.