Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 09:45 PM   #1
MrBob OP
Geezers Rule

Oddometer: 7,515
Cracked iPad screen

I bought a new iPad 2 last week. Three days later I dropped it and broke the screen. Looking online, I see that I'm not the only one to do so. There's a vast industry offering to make the repair or sell you the parts to do it yourself.
I make my living with my hands and I'm up for attempting to make the repair myself with help from Youtube.
Who has ordered a replacement screen that was of good quality and decently priced? There seem to be hundreds of screen vendors and prices vary by as much as a hundred dollars.
Old 09-04-2013, 10:34 PM   #2
soyanarchisto
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 3,314
Can't answer your questions specifically, but I broke the screen on my iPhone and paid some kid on craigslist 100 to replace it. After watching him, I realized I could have done it myself for half.

Go for it.
soyanarchisto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:59 AM   #3
Jonnylotto
All out of care

Oddometer: 15,284
If you can't deal with delicate parts and sharp plastic tools, don't do it.
Old 09-05-2013, 05:29 AM   #4
DriveShaft
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,294
Directfix is the source I went to the last time I had to repair a touch sensitive screen.

http://www.directfix.com/category/iPad-2-Parts.html

A good resource.
DriveShaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:55 AM   #5
bfd70
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 735
I broke 2 in six months. Repair shops around here replace for $85 in 1 hour. Invested in a life case.
bfd70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:56 AM   #6
MrBob OP
Geezers Rule

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfd70 View Post
I broke 2 in six months. Repair shops around here replace for $85 in 1 hour. Invested in a life case.