Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Ride reports
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-10-2013, 01:55 PM   #1
teaguenotes OP

Oddometer: 18
San Francisco to Seattle

So this is my first time posting a ride report and also my first time doing a larger ride...so bear with me and hope you enjoy.

My lady and baby decided to take a trip up to Seattle to visit family and get her motorcycle liscence, so I decided it would be a good time for me to try a real dual sport trip. I bought a DR650 about six months ago. It was all stock, but I set about getting it ready. I got the DR because after 4 years of riding and 4 different bikes I still had not gotten my hands dirty doing any maintenance. It was time to man up and learn how to work on bikes by trial and error. I bought the clymer manual for the DR and started on safety checks and basic service. Overall I was surprised that I didn't mess things up and that as long as I just followed instructions it was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. The only main mistake I made is not investing in a torque wrench right away which led to snapping bolts off in my brand new front sprocket and having to take the trip on an old half worn sprocket. Frustrating, but nothing major and a good lesson learned. Mods done to the bike

IMS 5 gallon tank
Renasco seat
lowered foot pegs
hand guards
CeeBaileys windshield
rear luggage rack
3 fingered clutch
shinko 705 rear tire
tkc 80 front tire

Gear I got:
Giant Loop tank bag
Giant loop great basin bag
Seal liner duffle bag
little 2 person tent
20 year old mountain hardware sleeping bag
and a universal fuel stove (whisperlite I think)