ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 47 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 10:30 AM   #91
Disco Stu
I'm Barry F'n Gibb!!
 
Disco Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: The Center of my Own Universe
Oddometer: 5,281
Thanks for the reviews.

I'm in STL this week and Gateway BMW has them in stock. It it works in my 665 cradle I'm taking one home with me.
Disco Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:24 AM   #92
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disco Stu View Post
Thanks for the reviews.

I'm in STL this week and Gateway BMW has them in stock. It it works in my 665 cradle I'm taking one home with me.

From what's been reported the Nav-V will not fit a Nav-IV 4-button cradle, but the IV will fit the V cradle, not 100% if the V will fit the Zumo 660 cradle though but I will bet it does.
__________________
2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:27 AM   #93
Disco Stu
I'm Barry F'n Gibb!!
 
Disco Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: The Center of my Own Universe
Oddometer: 5,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
From what's been reported the Nav-V will not fit a Nav-IV 4-button cradle, but the IV will fit the V cradle, not 100% if the V will fit the Zumo 660 cradle though but I will bet it does.
I should be able to tell in a couple of hours. Between the missus and I we have 5 bikes, all with Zumo 660/665 cradles. No way i'm gonna replace all of those cradles.
Disco Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 11:30 AM   #94
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,642
I'm kind of in the same boat as I ordered a car mount cradle for my Nav-V which is designed for the 660 and Nav-IV, I'm just hoping it fits.
Its kind of a large, heavy GPS to have up on the dash of my truck but I'd like to use the Advanced Weather and Traffic service that's part of Garmin Smartphone and it appears to be an excellent GPS device overall so far.
__________________
2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 12:01 PM   #95
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disco Stu View Post
I'm sure the device is serviceable if you send it into Garmin technical support. Or are you advocating that devices be serviceable by the average consumer?
Well sure, of course in Garmin terms, serviceable means send in your unit along with $150-$200 and they'll send you back a refurb unit rather then simply replace a $10 part.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:18 PM   #96
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,642
Question

Is there a way to calibrate the compass?

The compass on my Nav-V is locked on 163 degrees and won't move.
__________________
2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 01:56 PM   #97
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetSpeed View Post
Is there a way to calibrate the compass?

The compass on my Nav-V is locked on 163 degrees and won't move.
Have you tried moving in a direction? Its not a real compass so you need to move in a direction for it to work.
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:00 PM   #98
Disco Stu
I'm Barry F'n Gibb!!
 
Disco Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: The Center of my Own Universe
Oddometer: 5,281
Yep, it fits correctly in the zumo 660/665 cradle and draws power from the bike. I had to take one home
Disco Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:03 PM   #99
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by konfucius View Post
Yes it does, like the z660 (Nav IV), you can send tracks from BaseCamp, then set your track to be visible on the screen and you can select the color, you can have several tracks visible with different color at the same time.

Or you can convert your track to a route (on the navigator) and navigate it, you can not directly navigate a track, like you do on Montana.
Can you please tell me what the Track Point limit/track is? How many Tracks can you Import into the Track App? Can they all be displayed on the Map? Thx.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:17 PM   #100
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by konfucius View Post
Have you tried moving in a direction? Its not a real compass so you need to move in a direction for it to work.

By golly that was it, you have to be moving, I had wrongly figured that it was a regular compass like my 60CSx.
__________________
2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:57 PM   #101
Disco Stu
I'm Barry F'n Gibb!!
 
Disco Stu's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: The Center of my Own Universe
Oddometer: 5,281
One of the features I really appreciate is the ability to set the display to Landscape or Portrait modes.

Here it is on my K bike in portrait mode

Disco Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:02 AM   #102
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Can you please tell me what the Track Point limit/track is? How many Tracks can you Import into the Track App? Can they all be displayed on the Map? Thx.
Well I have made a synthetic test, I sent 26 hirez tracks to it, with a combined trackpoint count of 46819, the longest track had 4023 points, without any problem, they all look ok in the Nav V, you can show 15 tracks with your selected color at the same time on the display.

I then combined the 26 tracks above to one (with 46819 points) and sent to the Nav V, but that one was cut and I dont know how may points are actually shown on the display.

All sent tracks ends up as individual gpx-files in the GPX folder, the big one above is there as well and if I open it up on the computer it contains all the 46819 points, so the limit is when displaying the track, not storing it.

I'll see if I can work out the limit for one track to be displayed correctly, maybe 5000?
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 12:40 AM   #103
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
Got it, the max number of points that can be displayed in one track is 15000.

Sent a track of 16800 points to the Nav V and the end was cut off.

So the limits are:

More than 100 individual tracks can be sent and stored on the Nav V.

15 tracks can be shown at the same time on the display with selectable colors, each containing max 15000 points.


Now routes is another story, seems to be totally fubar in this unit...

konfucius screwed with this post 10-04-2013 at 01:51 AM
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 04:40 AM   #104
konfucius
Gnarly Adventurer
 
konfucius's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Boras, Sweden
Oddometer: 220
About routes, if I read this document:

http://www.ascycles.com/pdf/Navigato...rVFeatures.pdf

It says:

Quote:
Advanced route planning and navigation

New trip technology by means of Via and Shaping points make it possible to create longer and
more intricate motorcycle tours.

A trip consists of up to 30 routes (segments). Each route has a Via point and up to 125 Shaping points (Shaping points are used to define the route without being announced as an intermediate destination during navigation such as a waypoint).

The individual segments (routes) are calculated in order to calculate the trip. This makes calculation and navigation faster,
and makes it possible to skip individual segments.

Comparison:

- Navigator IV: no trip planning but route planning
with up to 250 points per route

- Navigator V: trip planning with up to 3750 points
per trip (30 routes with 125 points each)
But BaseCamp don't support shaping points?
konfucius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 08:21 AM   #105
JetSpeed
Naviator
 
JetSpeed's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: KNZY
Oddometer: 2,642
I haven't used trip planning or route planning in quite a while, I found that it was of little benefit as I would change my mind a lot of times during the ride as to which route to follow.
Now days I just review the map screen as I go if I'm in unfamiliar territory.
Is there something I'm missing by foregoing this?
__________________
2013 R1200GSW
JetSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014