ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2013, 09:08 AM   #1
tilting40s OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: SF, CA
Oddometer: 57
Easy way to re install rear stealth Sproket??

Cant get at the bolts while its in the rim/cush drive so I can't get all that much leverage, any easy ways to do this I'm guessing there is a special tool as well.
tilting40s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 09:33 AM   #2
spafxer
Beastly Adventurer
 
spafxer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Oddometer: 2,559
Since you say it has a cush drive, I assume it is a 9?0 KTM...


You know the cush drive pulls out of the hub, right? Any socket/wrench fits.. Easy Peasy !


WHat am I missing here?
spafxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 09:38 AM   #3
tilting40s OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: SF, CA
Oddometer: 57
I have a new cush drive that cam with new wheels that the sprok must be transferred to.
tilting40s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:37 AM   #4
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilting40s View Post
I have a new cush drive that cam with new wheels that the sprok must be transferred to.
Maybe a pic would help. The simple answer is that you remove the wheel, lift off the Cush drive, put that assembly in a vise, and wrench away.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Gravity is a very fickle mistress." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:55 AM   #5
brooks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Port Angeles
Oddometer: 308
cush drive help

the sprocket just pulls right away from the wheel, if stubborn a tap with a rubber mallet will bring it loose. The cush drive just comes out too. Nothing holding either of them in. Put the old sprocket in a vice and take the nuts off(there is metal on the factory sprocket to keep the bolt from turning. If you have the same supersprocket i put on the the bolts go flush in the hole. Torque to 50 NM in a star pattern. Boom!
__________________
Brooks
brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:58 AM   #6
brooks
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Port Angeles
Oddometer: 308
ps put something around the new sprocket to keep it from getting marred up while installing the bolts! Gotta keep the bling!
__________________
Brooks
brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer
 
DirtyADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: SWEDEN, Skellefteċ
Oddometer: 1,998
How to do it without a wise:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/dirtyadv/7034740691/

And dont forget loctite:

From manual to a 2004 bike:

HH nuts on rear sprocket bolts M10x1.25 Loctite 243 + 50 Nm

/Johan
__________________
Have changed name, was previously Dirty950

www.dirtyadv.com (under construction)
DirtyADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:34 PM   #8
MAXVERT
Rough Rider
 
MAXVERT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Sun Valley Idaho, Baja Arizona
Oddometer: 1,003
Impact wrench.

Max
__________________
Da oggi la strada
é senza limiti
MAXVERT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 04:45 PM   #9
Denalidirt
High Plains Drifter
 
Denalidirt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Denali, Ak.
Oddometer: 828
just did it

The locktite takes some serious effort to break. I screwed the sprocket to my work bench in 4 spots and the used my 2' torque wrench to break the locktite grip.
worked for me.

now I'm looking for a 15t front, any ideas who sells a dampened one?
Denalidirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:30 AM   #10
tilting40s OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: SF, CA
Oddometer: 57
DirtyADV, awesome tip! It made it a piece of cake.
tilting40s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:59 AM   #11
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer
 
DirtyADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: SWEDEN, Skellefteċ
Oddometer: 1,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilting40s View Post
DirtyADV, awesome tip! It made it a piece of cake.
If you look in the background you can actually see a bench wise but wanted to show how to do it without a wise, anything you can place in between the teeth on the sprocket carrier to hold it in place works.

Can be harder to find room for a torque wrench on a sprocket fixed to the hub directly since the spokes will be in the way.

Glad to be able to help =)

/Johan
__________________
Have changed name, was previously Dirty950

www.dirtyadv.com (under construction)
DirtyADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:01 PM   #12
sstewart
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,069
Bolts

Are you fucking kidding me? Dammit Boy!
sstewart is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 02:53 AM   #13
katoome
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Wodonga Australia
Oddometer: 22
Loctite

Loctite lets go with heat , A small LPG flame on the nut until too hot to touch will do the trick.
katoome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 07:28 PM   #14
sstewart
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,069
Impact

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAXVERT View Post
Impact wrench.

Max
The only way!
sstewart is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014