ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-21-2013, 06:17 AM   #1
jeveretts OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jeveretts's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Oddometer: 456
Question about Spot tracking devices.

Was thinking about getting one. Looks like the spot 3 is 150, and includes a year of service. Is the second year also $150? If so, why wouldn't you just buy another?
What if you buy a used one, is the year of service still the same price as the unit?
I am so confused.
jeveretts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:56 AM   #2
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Oddometer: 2,657
No, the standard service is $100/year but that does not include tracking. Just the ability to send out preset messages.
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:57 AM   #3
jeveretts OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jeveretts's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikertrash View Post
No, the standard service is $100/year but that does not include tracking. Just the ability to send out preset messages.
Does a year come with a new device?
jeveretts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:21 AM   #4
thetable
Beastly Adventurer
 
thetable's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Western Loudoun Co, VA
Oddometer: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeveretts View Post
Was thinking about getting one. Looks like the spot 3 is 150, and includes a year of service. Is the second year also $150? If so, why wouldn't you just buy another?
What if you buy a used one, is the year of service still the same price as the unit?
I am so confused.
Where are you seeing the free year? On Spot's site, I'm seeing "This device requires a service plan." No mention of a first year free.
thetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:12 AM   #5
jeveretts OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jeveretts's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetable View Post
Where are you seeing the free year? On Spot's site, I'm seeing "This device requires a service plan." No mention of a first year free.
ohhhh... I thought it came with a year when you bought it. So if I buy a '3' then I have to pay 150 for the device and 150 for the first year?
jeveretts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:22 AM   #6
cory1848
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Kissimmee Florida
Oddometer: 274
Looking to get one as well and from what I understand, it is like a cell phone, you buy the device and then you have to pay for the service in order to use it.

Trying to figure out if the Gen 3 is worth it over the Gen 2 version.
__________________
Current ride: 2013 Yamaha Super Tenere
Past rides: 2013 Triumph Tiger 800XC, 1997 Honda Goldwing SE, 2003 Kawasaki Ninja 6RR, 1997 Suzuki TL1000S, 1995 Suzuki Katana 600, 1985 Suzuki GS550EF, 1980 Suzuki GS250T
cory1848 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:25 AM   #7
DaymienRules
Traffic target
 
DaymienRules's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: vancouver, bc
Oddometer: 197
I bought a used one a few months ago. If there was a 1yr free service deal then I would have bought new, but there wasn't. FWIW when you sign up for your 1yr service, google for a recent discount code that will get you free tracking included, they are out there.
DaymienRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 11:47 AM   #8
Wlfman
Beastly Adventurer
 
Wlfman's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: TN/AL
Oddometer: 1,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeveretts View Post
ohhhh... I thought it came with a year when you bought it. So if I buy a '3' then I have to pay 150 for the device and 150 for the first year?
Yes
__________________
I ride not to add days to my life, but to add life to my days.

Those who say it cannot be done should not interrupt the people who are doing it."
"Now and then it's good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and JUST BE HAPPY."
Wlfman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 01:17 PM   #9
jeveretts OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
jeveretts's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Oddometer: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaymienRules View Post
I bought a used one a few months ago. If there was a 1yr free service deal then I would have bought new, but there wasn't. FWIW when you sign up for your 1yr service, google for a recent discount code that will get you free tracking included, they are out there.
Thanks. I think I am going to just get a 1, they are cheap, and with tracking the service is the same price.
jeveretts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 02:31 PM   #10
Fat Bear
Iron Butt #48477
 
Fat Bear's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Kanata, ON
Oddometer: 41
I just bought the Gen 2 a month ago. The Gen 3 was not available in Canada at that time. The annual subscription was not included in the purchase price. The device worked as advertised and is a necessity if you're going to be in areas on your own without cell phone coverage.
Fat Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:27 PM   #11
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeveretts View Post
Thanks. I think I am going to just get a 1, they are cheap, and with tracking the service is the same price.
Might want to at least get a Spot 2.
Signal is better in a lot of places per my and many others experiences.
The unit is physically smaller.
Battery life is a bit reduced,but not significant enough to affect most useage.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 07:34 AM   #12
jeffjones
"offroad shit"
 
jeffjones's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: Bahama
Oddometer: 157
Quick question on the SPOT system in general......

Is it able to gps track without a subscription through spot??? I see a few users using it on a walla website.. is that site just a secondary tracker using the already active spot subscription????

I searched and couldn't find an answer, and figured i'd just ask in another thread rather than creating a new thread on a possibly already asked question.
jeffjones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 08:49 AM   #13
thetable
Beastly Adventurer
 
thetable's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Western Loudoun Co, VA
Oddometer: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffjones View Post
Quick question on the SPOT system in general......

Is it able to gps track without a subscription through spot??? I see a few users using it on a walla website.. is that site just a secondary tracker using the already active spot subscription????
No.
Yes.
thetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 12:10 AM   #14
JerryH
Vintage Rider
 
JerryH's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Chandler, AZ
Oddometer: 4,629
Just what does the Spot do? How does it work? I often ride alone way out into the AZ desert, far from civilization, with no cell phone coverage. I have been thinking lately that an injury or a broken down bike could spell real trouble with no way to contact anyone.
__________________
2002 Vulcan 750 (now being slowly reassembled) 2013 Royal Enfield B5
2001 XT225, 2009 Genuine Stella
1980 Puch moped
JerryH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:49 AM   #15
guyfawkes
Gnarly Adventurer
 
guyfawkes's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Vienna
Oddometer: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryH View Post
Just what does the Spot do? How does it work? I often ride alone way out into the AZ desert, far from civilization, with no cell phone coverage. I have been thinking lately that an injury or a broken down bike could spell real trouble with no way to contact anyone.
a couple of things
) check-in, requires you to push a button, sends a customizable message
) custom messages, same as above only the message is customizable
) need help, requires you to push a button, sends a help message(not emergency), eq. if your bike broke down or something and you need a tow truck

the 2 above can be customized as far as recipients go.

) sos , requires you to push a button, this goes directly to the spot emergency response center and they will dispatch rescue services.

) tracking, automated tracking with a point every 15min.
guyfawkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014