Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-23-2013, 12:06 AM   #1
sstrangee OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 48
Advice for broken bolt?

Hello all.

Went dual sporting a couple days ago through a nice big rocked dry river bed, only to find that my skid plate front support bolt was snapped when I got home.

The bolt that broke off is a M6x30 or approximately a 1/4" bolt. I am assuming the bolt is stainless steel, might be aluminum, but I'm not really sure. Anyway, I have never tried to remove a broken bolt before and I've been told to start with a pilot hole as close to center as possible and use an extractor by one person or a left handed drill bit by another. I've also been told not to "screw up the threads" or the job will become 10x worse.

Where do I even start? How do I create a pilot hole? What's the difference of a left handed drill bit to a right handed? Do I need a special drill for this?

Here is a link to the broken bolt itself:

As you can tell, it's not flush with the frame but sort of inset into the hole. The large circular holes you see in the frame, are actually quite small and I'm not able to get a tool to "extract" the bolt from the rear using pliers, etc.

Any help and tips would be greatly appreciated.
sstrangee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:11 AM   #2
willis 2000
neo-quixote

Oddometer: 2,942
take off the skidplate and use a sharp chisel on the bolt.
willis 2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:17 AM   #3
749duc
life is indeed good

Oddometer: 43
Use an easy out. Its a bit that attaches to your drill to remove bolts with sheared heads. They can be purchased at home depot. You drill them into the sheared bolt and back the sheared bolt out. You don't need a special drill for the job.
749duc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 02:39 AM   #4
Twin-shocker
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,673