Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-23-2013, 04:51 AM   #1
harrydevert OP
n00b

Oddometer: 8
Top Box vs. Duffel on a CA and SA trip plus more questions from a newbie

Hey all,

Newbie here having a huge dilemma. I thought that Iíd decided on everything. Started ordering the majority of my stuff. Now all of a sudden Iím having huge reservations about the top box (or whatever itís called). Iíve read a tonÖand had settled on a Pelican 1550. Then I started trying to figure out what kind of a rack to order and for some reason the more I looked at different racks the more I started to think that I might be better off with one of those big waterproof duffel bags.

I just bought a 2002 KLR 650 and am leaving for Central and South America in pretty much exactly two weeks (not set in stone but I picked a day and want to stay as close to that as possible)Öso I know I have to order all my stuff probably yesterday haha. I ordered the pack rat touring rack so Iíll be able to take my side boxes off. And if I had a duffel bag, Iíd essentially be able to take just about everything off the bike. There are a bunch of places where Iím going to be stopping for probably a week or more, Iím a slow traveler normally, and with a motorcycle for some reason I feel like Iíll want to go even slower.

Iím up in the air over security vs. convenience vs. I donít even know. I plan on camping a bunch, but I also plan on staying at different hostels and with friends along the way. I know I can lug everything in if I feel like it and keep it at a hostel. If Iím camping I can take the duffel off and keep it in the tent, but Iím more concerned with towns when Iím en route and donít have anywhere to keep everything.