User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2013, 06:47 AM   #1
jesse v OP
Motorcyclist

Oddometer: 205
Painted "pre-primed" bodywork

My SV1000S has some rash on each side of the upper fairing from a couple track offs this season. (Don't ask... :-[ ) Simply painting it won't work; there's so much plastic ground away on one side. So, I thought about buying this unpainted fairing that is already primed, and painting it with these ColorRite aerosol kits.

I can pick up the incidental supplies locally, rather than paying ColorRite $115 plus shipping for their Aerosol Complete Repair Package.

According to ColorRite's instructional videos, they sure make it sound easy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21fBWTsdJC4

I've never done any real painting before. Am I crazy? If not, will one can each of color and clearcoat be enough?
Old 10-27-2013, 07:14 AM   #2
vtduc
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 141
Painting and refinishing can get pretty complicated, particularly if you want to end up with a top notch final product. Since no one has replied, I'll throw in my 2c. One can of color and clear for that much fairing is pretty marginal, especially if you want multiple coats or want to get color on the inside surfaces of the fairing. I would go for at least 2 of each, probably 3 (You might want the extra anyway if more track days are in the offing.)

Perhaps consider repairing the damage to the existing fairing with fiberglass and filler - you would be amazed at what can be fixed. Especially if you plan on using the damaged fairing for track use or pitching it, you don't have much to lose if it doesn't turn out well. If the majority of the fairing is OK, and you can repair it, you might get by with a spot repair like they show in the video with a smaller quantity of paint. The repair process would also be a fun learning experience.