User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-31-2013, 08:23 AM   #1
riverfever OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 41
76 500/550 Project

I've had this bike for several months now and figured I'd start a thread for it to keep track of what's going on. Little background...I have had one motorcycle (XR400 with a motard setup). I only had that bike for a few months. I did not have a license and really didn't know what I was doing on it. As a result, I laid it down and got hurt and scared. I sold it. I have always ridden mountain bikes but a pinched nerve in my neck forced me to stop riding them a year ago. I kept looking at motorcycles but could not bring myself to buy something expensive because I did not know if I'd still be scared to ride it. I also have always wanted a project. I am a teacher so I have summers off and wanted something to occupy my time. So...I started looking at older CB's and found this one and decided to bring it home. This is how the bike was when I brought it home.

I paid 1200 for it. It was advertised as a 76 550 and because I didn't know anything, I didn't question it. Not long after getting it home, I realized it was a 500 motor. I wasn't upset because I had no idea what I was going to do with this thing. I live in a small town up in the mountains and I figured it would be a cool bike to cruise around town on or go grab coffee with.

The first thing I did was start going through the entire bike. I cleaned it and put a wrench on every fastener to make sure it was tight as the PO said he bought it in boxes and put it together to flip.

There was no air box on it and no filter system. It ran horribly. PO said the carbs looked great and didn't need any cleaning and that I should put pods on it. Here's a pic from cleaning the front end. The drag bars were comfy but the master cylinder hit the fork and was at an awkward angle.

riverfever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:30 AM   #2