ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2014, 06:48 PM   #1
Newbusa OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 558
Throttle cable install on 990

Anybody have a picture on the installation of the 2 cables to the stock throttle cam? Took it off and can't seem to figure out how to re-install it
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 08:16 PM   #2
DELTATANGO
Motorcyclist and Dog Walk
 
DELTATANGO's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 13,485
I tried to type something but it was incomprehensible.

Try Youtube.
DELTATANGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 08:50 PM   #3
Newbusa OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 558
Yes I tried YouTube, still have not found anything.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:47 AM   #4
rider911
Gnarly Adventurer
 
rider911's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 356
When you twist the throttle only one cable pulls.....
__________________
____________________

08 KTM 300 exce (small)
12 KTM 500 exc (medium)
07 KTM 990 Adv (large)
rider911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:42 AM   #5
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 290
The cable closer to rider on top of the bars is the pull cable, put it in the round hole on throttle cam and return cable in the oval shaped. Don't know how to explain it really.. Just stare at it until you figure it out - I think that's how most of us do it.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 05:46 AM   #6
Lycan1
Grizzly herder
 
Lycan1's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary,Alberta
Oddometer: 1,569
Hope this helps

__________________
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=595530
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=702314
Uhaul, it's part of the KTM experience.
09 KTM 990 Adv
Lycan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 06:17 AM   #7
DELTATANGO
Motorcyclist and Dog Walk
 
DELTATANGO's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 13,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masa View Post
Just stare at it until you figure it out - I think that's how most of us do it.
Classic.
DELTATANGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 01:20 PM   #8
Newbusa OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 558
Okay, figured it out. the problem was I was getting stuck on the position of the handgrip, I have heated grips on the bike and the wire for the grip I thought should hang straight down when installed. I guess the previous owner did not line it up properly so now with throttle working properly the wire for the heated grips twist up near the brake lever. But meh ,who cares the throttle works.

So now, how much slack should there be in the cables down by the throttle bodies?

Amazing! Adjusted my valves,installed Rottweiler kit,all other services and I get stumped by a little thing like the throttle cables..

Big thanks to everybody for trying to help ,sometimes it's hard to see the forest for all the trees.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 03:08 PM   #9
DELTATANGO
Motorcyclist and Dog Walk
 
DELTATANGO's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Oddometer: 13,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbusa View Post
Okay, figured it out. the problem was I was getting stuck on the position of the handgrip, I have heated grips on the bike and the wire for the grip I thought should hang straight down when installed. I guess the previous owner did not line it up properly so now with throttle working properly the wire for the heated grips twist up near the brake lever. But meh ,who cares the throttle works.

So now, how much slack should there be in the cables down by the throttle bodies?

Amazing! Adjusted my valves,installed Rottweiler kit,all other services and I get stumped by a little thing like the throttle cables..

Big thanks to everybody for trying to help ,sometimes it's hard to see the forest for all the trees.
See, all you had to do was stare at it.
DELTATANGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:32 PM   #10
Newbusa OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 558
Cross eyed now.
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014