User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-28-2014, 08:40 AM   #1
AC909 OP
Great Job!

Oddometer: 1,029
Modified general purpose garments transformed into motorcycle gear

What got me starting to think about this topic was the "Adventure Jacket...that doesn't look like one?" thread on the site.
I am a gear nut and get completely caught up in studying and testing new types of gear on the market. This is what I do for a living so I am surrounded by motorcycle apparel at least 40 hours out of my week. I love all types of gear from modern super technical pieces all the way down to the classic Belstaff Trailmaster my dad wore back in the 60's that is hanging in his closet to this day and everything in between.

I have been waiting to buy my own Trailmaster but I just haven't found a vintage example that fit me yet. I started thinking about it and the Trailmaster by today's standard isn't all that much of a motorcycle jacket. It's not fully waterproof, the armor isn't much more than stitched in padding (many don't even have that), pockets of the type can be found on garments of all kinds, and waxed cotton is not very abrasion resistant compared to modern materials. All that being said this jacket and many others like it have stood the test of time, I think they are still great for fair weather type riding, look amazing, and dagonit I just don't feel right wearing my Klim jacket on my vintage bikes for short backroad riding! So I got to thinking about it and decided I am going to try and make my own Trailmaster style coat out of something I recently bought and really love the fit of, a Carhartt Chore coat.