ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2014, 07:36 AM   #1
ValpoFz OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 102
Using a Garmin 600 Montana with a Macbook Air?

Does any one have experience using this combination? I have been thinking about getting a one just concerned about compatibility.
ValpoFz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 08:32 AM   #2
udoggie
Top Dog
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Oregon, aka Heaven on Earth
Oddometer: 51
I use a macbook air with my Garmin Zumo and the wife's Garmin 1490, and it works just fine. I usually end up using mapquest to generate my routes and upload directly to the GPS.

I can't speak to the montana directly though, sorry. I think their software is pretty generic to all garmin's.

UD
udoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 09:07 AM   #3
klinquist
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,064
No problems... what concerns you? All macs that run the same OS version are going to function the same...
__________________
My 2013 Tiger 800 "Off-Roadie" (plate GETLOZT) - My 2003 DRZ (plate LV DRT RD) - My 2003 E350 Adventure Van (plate ADV VAN) - Amateur Radio W1ADV
Upcoming: Heart of the West Sept 2014 Past: Two idiots and a guy on a VFR have dinner in Prudhoe
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 10:49 AM   #4
ValpoFz OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by klinquist View Post
No problems... what concerns you? All macs that run the same OS version are going to function the same...
Just want to make sure that I can use it that's all, I am not really GPS software knowledgable. A few years ago I tried loading tracks into my 550 and could never get them to load. So I tried pruning them down and that worked but I couldn't load enough Into it to actually work. Basically, it was very frustrating and I do t want to repeat the experience. I want a GPS that I can pull tracks down and load them with out losing my mind, well what's left of it anyway.
ValpoFz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 10:53 AM   #5
klinquist
übergeek
 
klinquist's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValpoFz View Post
Just want to make sure that I can use it that's all, I am not really GPS software knowledgable. A few years ago I tried loading tracks into my 550 and could never get them to load. So I tried pruning them down and that worked but I couldn't load enough Into it to actually work. Basically, it was very frustrating and I do t want to repeat the experience. I want a GPS that I can pull tracks down and load them with out losing my mind, well what's left of it anyway.
In short, a macbook air would not give you any more or less frustrations with the device than any other mac or any windows PC for that matter. Garmin Basecamp is essentially the same on any platform.

The GPS itself may have limitations - sounds like you came up upon the maximum track points that the Zumo 550 supported. Not at all related to the computer you were using.
__________________
My 2013 Tiger 800 "Off-Roadie" (plate GETLOZT) - My 2003 DRZ (plate LV DRT RD) - My 2003 E350 Adventure Van (plate ADV VAN) - Amateur Radio W1ADV
Upcoming: Heart of the West Sept 2014 Past: Two idiots and a guy on a VFR have dinner in Prudhoe
klinquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 11:37 AM   #6
ValpoFz OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Oddometer: 102
That's what I figured coupled with not being to bright or to patient did make a successful combination. I found the Montana on Amazon for $421.
ValpoFz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014