ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 09:08 AM   #1
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Curvy Roads Naviagation

Over the past 6(?) months, Garmin has introduced a curvy road navigation feature to their GPSes, or at least some of them.

I would like to hear from people who have tried this feature and are willing to share any tips, tricks, or pitfalls they have experienced in using the feature.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:42 AM   #2
Cataract2
Where to?
 
Cataract2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: N. Charleston, SC
Oddometer: 1,288
Which GPS got this?
__________________
People who get made because they're old, haven't lived.
Cataract2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:53 AM   #3
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 625
The latest BaseCamp (beta) also has "Curvy Roads" as a routing option. I only started playing with it but so far it appears to work.
__________________
SW
Steve W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 12:33 PM   #4
Emoto OP
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cataract2 View Post
Which GPS got this?
Nav V
Zumo 390
Zumo 350 (added as a software update)
Zumo 590

There may be others, that I don't know about. I have made no extensive survey.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 02:45 PM   #5
Twohondas
Beastly Adventurer
 
Twohondas's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
The latest BaseCamp (beta) also has "Curvy Roads" as a routing option. I only started playing with it but so far it appears to work.
Seems like something you want to play with before hand on a PC with a big screen.....would be an interesting routine to write with a lot of variables I would imagine.
Twohondas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 04:31 PM   #6
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
The latest BaseCamp (beta) also has "Curvy Roads" as a routing option. I only started playing with it but so far it appears to work.
What menu is that option hiding under?

Thanks.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
Most recent adventure: Europe 2014
pckopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:58 PM   #7
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by pckopp View Post
What menu is that option hiding under?

Thanks.
Win-BC: Options -> Activity Profile -> Routing -> Route Preference

Mac-BC: Preferences -> Routing -> Calculation Mode.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 07:25 PM   #8
pckopp
Aged Adventurer
 
pckopp's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Oddometer: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
Win-BC: Options -> Activity Profile -> Routing -> Route Preference
Ok thanks, Really is "beta", that doesn't show on mine and I'm current.

I do like the ability to convert a route to a track. Nice.

Thanks again.
__________________
Phil in Seattle, WA
Most recent adventure: Europe 2014
pckopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:55 PM   #9
Astolfo
Wicked Slow
 
Astolfo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: The Mental Asylum
Oddometer: 709
man it works SO much better than the GA version! Wouldn't be nice to have a drag function like in Bing maps and others...
BTW anyone knows why when I export a route from mapquest and import it into basecamp it shows as a straight line?
__________________
1995 R1000 GS 1998 R850 GS 1999 R1000Gs 2007 KTM ADV 990 2009 R1200GS
2012 F800GS White & Blue Trophy
2014 GSA
Astolfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:10 PM   #10
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astolfo View Post
man it works SO much better than the GA version! Wouldn't be nice to have a drag function like in Bing maps and others...
BTW anyone knows why when I export a route from mapquest and import it into basecamp it shows as a straight line?
You have always been able to click on a route segment and drag it to the desired road (just like online) but you need to use the appropriate TOOL to do so in the GA version of Windows-BaseCamp. In Mac-BaseCamp you simply press the ALT key and click on the Route segment and drag. Win-BC v4.3 will be using some of the Mac-BC options like the above.

The Video Tutorials will help you.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:20 PM   #11
Astolfo
Wicked Slow
 
Astolfo's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: The Mental Asylum
Oddometer: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
You have always been able to click on a route segment and drag it to the desired road (just like online) but you need to use the appropriate TOOL to do so in the GA version of Windows-BaseCamp. In Mac-BaseCamp you simply press the ALT key and click on the Route segment and drag. Win-BC v4.3 will be using some of the Mac-BC options like the above.

The Video Tutorials will help you.
I use windows, and watched the videos but still can't figure out how to "grab" a part of a route then "drag" it where I want it to go without having to manually add a ton of waypoints...
I will keep trying and if I fail I will call Garmin.
__________________
1995 R1000 GS 1998 R850 GS 1999 R1000Gs 2007 KTM ADV 990 2009 R1200GS
2012 F800GS White & Blue Trophy
2014 GSA
Astolfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 08:16 PM   #12
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 4,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astolfo View Post
I use windows, and watched the videos but still can't figure out how to "grab" a part of a route then "drag" it where I want it to go without having to manually add a ton of waypoints...
I will keep trying and if I fail I will call Garmin.
In Win-BC, this is the TOOL BAR you will use to edit Routes and Tracks. To drag the Route to a new road, select the "pencil with the +". That's the path edit tool. Read the Help file on how to use it.
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014