Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-23-2014, 05:16 AM   #1
ScottyDev OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 10
Allergies and Bees - Need advice from vets

Hey Folks,
First, I'm fairly inexperienced as a rider, and this is my first time riding a street bike outside of the city (not used to dealing with lots of bugs or pollen).

While riding home from work yesterday I noticed that my allergies were really acting up despite having started my seasonal Zyrtec doping. Fortunately, it doesn't make me drowsy at all, but it also doesn't work 100%. It wasn't too bad, but it got me thinking about what this Spring season is going to be like. Then, there are bees, etc.

I wear a full faced helmet, and have the standard windshield on my F800GS. I'm wondering what others have experienced with this? How can I protect myself from the elements better?

I did a google search, but didn't come up with anything particularly useful. I'm hoping you guys can offer any advice. I certainly appreciate it!

-Scotty
ScottyDev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 05:52 AM   #2
flei
queasy rider

Oddometer: 607
I can think of a few things:

It is unclear if you are stating you are allergic to bee stings. Obviously, if you are, you need to carry an epi-pen (or several) and wear a medical ID bracelet!!

You can add a larger windscreen, or an extension to what you have now. This may make a big difference from the stock screen in terms of deflecting ollen, bees, etc.

Does your helmet have a chin curtain? That helps. Some wear scarves around their neck to fill any voids under the helmet.

I have not tried these but they seem fairly well-reviewed: http://www.wolfsnout.com/
Old 04-23-2014, 06:13 AM   #3
FredRydr
Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.

Oddometer: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyDev View Post
Then, there are bees, etc.
When a bee hits me in the neck, I generally get stung. There are neck coverings with velcro.