1200gs Factory Auxiliary light wiring kit on f800gs

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by TFB43, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    I am wondering if anyone has used the 1200gs wiring harness kit on the f800gs? I have installed the rigid lights and have enough wire on the provided harness to wrap around the world. Done the search nothing comes up. Anybody?
    #1
  2. Angryrican

    Angryrican know nothing all

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    265
    Location:
    North NJ
    Since its it for the F800GS I would either fold and zip tie it or trim it to size just like I would with a universal kit
    #2
  3. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    Ok I can do that but, i found on ascycles.com this part number 61128534525 that says its the auxiliary LED headlight wiring harness. Now looking on parts.bmwgroup.com I found this part 61128530338. WIll this part allow wiring of the factory 1200gs auxiliary lights?

    The first part number i only found on a german website and it says it is no longer available. So my question stands. Looking for a more clean factory harness. Is there one?
    #3
  4. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    :hmmmmm Anybody?
    #4
  5. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    :evil:clap:lol3:freaky:rofl:y0!
    #5
  6. Astolfo

    Astolfo Wicked Slow

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    808
    Location:
    The Mental Asylum
    i can post pics of the handlebar
    #6
  7. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    Astolfo,
    You have used the entire wiring harness not just the switch? If so, what did you have to do? Does it plug in somewhere? Does it connect to the battery? How much modification did you have to make for it to work?
    #7
  8. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    #8
  9. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    :*sip*

    I didn't see anywhere you could plug the aux harness on the 12 800gs. Maybe the plug on the battery?
    #9
  10. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    This thread is me having a conversation with.....me.:lol3
    #10
  11. ebrabaek

    ebrabaek Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,426
    Location:
    Grand Valley, Colorado
    :freaky:clap
    #11
  12. FredRydr

    FredRydr Danger: Keep Back 500 Ft.

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,576
    Location:
    Carlisle Pennsylvania USA
    I moved an OE BMW auxiliary light switch from my '07 R1200R to my '09 F800GS, a perfect fit. The aux switch housing replaces the plastic on the forward side of the clutch lever's housing. The R1200R and R1200GS are identical in this respect, so your experience should be the same as mine reinstalling your R1200GS auxiliary light switch on your F800GS.

    This may not apply to the 2013 F800GS with the new switchgear.

    Fred
    #12
  13. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    Thank You Fred!:clap

    I am excited to get my wiring issue tidied up. The new 2013 F800 will not accept the switch for the r1200gs... But it will have a wiring harness designed specifically for it. You can view it on the Webetk bmw parts site. Since the part is so new techs are not sure of a retrofit. I have the r1200gs wiring harness on order. Going to look at it for a clean install. Also have the centek ap2 and wiring harness. Going to cost about the same, but the centek will give me the option to add other electric goodies. Purchased some posi tap connect stuff to get everything clean.
    #13
  14. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    Bad idea for the 1200 wiring harness... Hacked into the harness and found making one was the way to go. The 1200 aux switch worked 3 times before it stopped. It was so much fun taking all the plastic off and routing the wires:nah, the best part was getting them all back on and the switch not working. now I make a toggle box took the petty covering off of the factory harness attached it to my wiring and zip tied it all. So I have the factory switch and my funny plastic box switch. I love wasting money:splat
    #14
  15. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    [​IMG]
    #15
  16. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    [​IMG]

    Notice the wonderful non working OEM switch.... And the functional $5 switch on top of the light. The price included the box and terminals.
    #16
  17. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,266
    Location:
    :o)
    I'd like to get that switch and fit it with some Touratech Fog Lights.... Should fit?
    #17
  18. TFB43

    TFB43 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    66
    Yep fits perfect. make sure you get it wired correctly. Any mistake will kill the switch. Not like the cheap $5 one that you cant seem to break.lol:rofl
    #18
  19. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,266
    Location:
    :o)
    Arf darn it! Why isn't it always simple ?! :lol3

    But thank you very much for the advice! Once I have the curage to do this I'll post a picture :lol3
    #19
  20. gsadventuretourist

    gsadventuretourist n00b

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1
    I am going to try to wire this correctly do you know the proper way to do it? I would also settle for the way anyone did it that did not work so I can eliminate any of my bad ideas.
    Thanks
    #20