A Tale of BikeBandit.com

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by GHO100, Sep 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GHO100

    GHO100 Crazy George

    Apr 7, 2009
    My tale begins the week before Labor Day. I had a chat with a representative online regarding a tire purchase, knowing that my 1400 mile round trip to Maine would be skating on thin tread without alleviation:

    Chat Transcript
    info: Please wait for a BikeBandit.com Live Help operator to respond.
    info: You are now chatting with 'Mark - Sales & Dealer Services'
    Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Hello, welcome to BikeBandit :)
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: hello
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: I'm inquiring about shipping a tire
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: I'm riding to Maine for the weekend, and I'd like to have the tire deliverd there, so I can put it on before riding home
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: however, it needs to get there by monday at the absolute latest
    Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Ok I see, which tire were you looking at by chance?
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: bw502
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: 7534750-001
    Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: If you were to order that tire today you would get that one by friday, latest case would be saturday :)
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: awesome
    ghoverkamp@gmail.com: do i need to select espress shipping?
    Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Oh no, with our tires we use a premium service, that quotes with ground shipping :)

    Mark then went on to inform me that my coupon had expired:

    "Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Ah I see, that one expired but what I can do is once you place the order, you can give me the new order id code here in chat and I will credit the ground shipping back to your card of purchase
    Mark - Sales & Dealer Services: Im sorry not the ground shipping but the 10%"

    Emailing Mark the order number led to a different rep telling me they couldn't do that after I'd made the purchase. No 10% off.

    Surprise, Surprise!

    The tire, ordered and slotted to arrive in Maine for my weekend festivities, didn't arrive until the Wednesday after labor day, over a week after having ordered it.

    Chats with Phyllis led to more frustrations. She was unable to recall the tire, even though I wouldn't be in Maine to receive it. She was unable to reroute the tire to a better location. Both of these options were given to me with quick calls to the shipper, UPS, who told me they only needed a rep from the originator to get those done.

    Arriving back home, tire issue solved in other ways, I sat down an email to BB, explaining that I'd be posting my experiences, and I was displeased about the lying and failure to provide service. I received a favorable response this time:

    "Hello George,
    Thank you for writing in! We have reviewed the chat that you had with the previous sales rep and we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We have placed a credit in the amount of $37.40 which includes the 10% you were supposed to have received, ground shipping as well as the handling charge on your order. Please allow 3-4 business days for this to show back to the CC used to place this order. We have also placed a 10% discount on your account for the next 30 days. Any item ordered will have an automatic 10% taken off of it once you have added it to your shopping cart. Once again, we do apologize for any inconvenience. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to assist you. "

    Excellent! Pleased again, I begin my shopping. First on the list is a KN air filter. Hmm, they're not the best price, even with shipping and the 10% discount. What's this? They offer a price beating guarantee. Off goes my email with the price to match.

    A day passes, I receive this canned response:

    "We strive to make our customers happy, but in this case, we couldnÂ’t confirm the submitted advertised price for the AIR FILTER SU-1002. If you feel that there may have been something we missed, feel free to contact our Customer Service team."

    I reply:
    "here's the URL:


    will you match it, or not?"

    Another day passes:

    "Hello George,

    Thanks for writing in! Unfortunately we are not able to match the price on the website you provided. This is because the retailer is an automotive, and not a powersports online retailer. If you have any questions, just give us a click!"

    Hmph. I've had it.

    My final word:

    "With this bit of word parsing to add to my list of experiences with
    BikeBandit, I can assure you that despite recent actions taken to
    correct mistakes previously made by your establishment, which did
    include a 10% reduction on future purchases, I will not be purchasing
    ever again from your website.

    The message below is such utter bullshit, that I don't even know why
    you advertise price matching. Whatever your internal company policy
    tells you, I would be ashamed to tell my patrons this kind of
    nonsense. Respectable is a word on my least likely list for your
    business practices. Bandits, indeed.

    In short, FYYFF.

    George Overkamp
    Former customer, never again."

    Feel free to order from them if you want, but I'll be doing my parts buying elsewhere.
  2. GB

    GB . Administrator

    Aug 16, 2002
    Seems to me you're trying to get blood out of stone.. they're already giving a first discount of 10% and another 10% on your next order placed within a month, and now you want them to match or beat the price of an automotive dealer.. Shop elsewhere.. :dunno After reading how they treated you, I'm impressed with their customer service .
  3. CarSalesman

    CarSalesman Been here awhile

    Apr 6, 2007
    Sayre, Pa
    The worlds best price, and good service, will never come at the same place. You have to decide. They are human, apologized, and tried to make you happy. I'd pay extra for that (and frequently do so).
  4. * SHAG *

    * SHAG * Unstable

    Nov 28, 2001
    Bradford, Pa
    :baby Why didn't you put on a new tire before you left :norton
  5. neilaction

    neilaction Slightly Less Adventurous

    Jun 18, 2008
    Perth, WA.
    I had an experience with bikebandit.com
    They sent me the wrong brake pads (and I'm in Aus):eek1
    (it was part of a bigger order)
    I could see the mistake as the pads had been marked with the wrong bar code sticker.

    I thought, here we go.:deal
    But the way they handled it was good.
    Full credit on the pads including shipping on my next order.
    And I could keep the pads they sent so I didn't have to send em back.

    I was happy with their response to the error and I would use them again.
  6. bomber60015

    bomber60015 Anatomically Correct

    Sep 11, 2008
    I'm thinkin you had em at FYYFF, didn't ya?

  7. Z0RR0

    Z0RR0 Been here awhile

    Sep 20, 2004
    Montreal, CA
    Wow, you seem like an annoying customer.
  8. Fishyhead

    Fishyhead Eremikophobic

    Jul 25, 2008
    Anaheim, CA
    My experiences with BB have been better than all the local dealers and most of the local shops.
  9. CA Stu

    CA Stu Tremendous slouch Super Moderator

    Aug 27, 2004
    Riverside, CA
    I have ordered from them a dozen times or more, always stellar service, prompt shipping, and the right part at the right price.

    Maybe it's you?

    CA Stu
  10. rxcoop

    rxcoop persnickety curmedgeon

    Mar 18, 2004
    cultural mecca of mid-atlantic
    ordered a set of tires 2 weeks ago, on a friday. had an e-mail monday morning that they had been shipped and arrived wed afternoon as promised. got my AMA discount and also got to use a $10 gift card i got from buying a tix pagage for mid-ohio. quite happy with service....however, as always, YMMV.
  11. 13

    13 __________

    May 13, 2008
    Long Island, NY
    Same here. The only thing I find I have issues with is ordering OEM Triumph parts can take some time shipping wise but if its something I know is wearing out I try to order it a few weeks in advance so I know I'll have it when I need it. Call me crazy:dunno
  12. rxcoop

    rxcoop persnickety curmedgeon

    Mar 18, 2004
    cultural mecca of mid-atlantic
    just noticed....george is from new joisey. explains a lot:wink:
  13. bass_on_tap

    bass_on_tap Long timer

    Dec 8, 2007
    Ro' di-lan
    Always had good service from them.
  14. Saltbox

    Saltbox WTF is this?

    Aug 18, 2008
    Same here, just placed an order this week and the stuff arrived today. No complaints here.

    Sometimes its the rider, not the bike and sometimes its the buyer not the seller.:evil
  15. Vell_Bruixot

    Vell_Bruixot Guest

    Another experience from BikeBandit: they are not the cheapest at times but usually seem to do a decent job getting what I need quickly. Recent case was a particular tire foot-pump. Turned out to be back-ordered. Then the manufacturer said they were no longer making them. Seems nobody had one. BikeBandit scurried around, who knows where, and found one and sent it to me before my flight date. So somebody there is trying.
  16. No Degree

    No Degree Where's the decency?

    Apr 14, 2008
    Finger Lakes
    I placed an order on 11/08/2010 and it arrived today, 11/23/2010. So much for shipping in 3-5 business days.
    Nothing special, just some maintenance items. Unacceptable. First and last time for these tools.
  17. chef_of_the_future

    chef_of_the_future You talking to me?

    May 10, 2006
    one bad (or good) experience does not a trend make. Just take a look at any customer review section of a big site like Amazon. You will normally see half the buyers happy and half pissed off for the same item.

    No retailer is perfect but appears like they tried their best.
  18. fullmetalscooter

    fullmetalscooter Let me take this duck off

    Apr 28, 2009
    I tried them once asking if what I order was in stock or not. Got yep but it's was back order. For what they are a on time parts dealer I guess they are ok but they aren't any faster then your local shop often. They have to order it in and then ship it out unless they company they are dealing with drop ships it .
  19. bomber60015

    bomber60015 Anatomically Correct

    Sep 11, 2008
    I've had good luck with BB, but havn't tried to achieve anything out of the ordinary . . . .large on line retailers design their systems around a standard order fulfillment process . . . .

    I also treat the vendors I do business with like I would wish to be treated . . . . squeezing every last dime out of an order is, for me, a silly way to spend my time.

    I'm not rich, but, if a vendor can't offer what I want at a price I wish to pay, I will simpoly go elsewhere. Life's too short to try to change someone else's mind.
  20. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Feb 13, 2007
    Mountains of Central Florida:)
    I've used BB 3 times for OEM Triumph parts, never again. Each time was painful, no indication of stock status, nada, nothing, usually I call after a week to find out that it is backordered. They have some silly idea that they need to ship the parts to their facility instead of drop shipping to the customer. This typically adds a week! Quickest delivery time was 21 days!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.