BMW F800 R - the Rotax Roadster Thread

Discussion in 'Road Warriors' started by Lost Roadie, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. ADVBMR

    ADVBMR Polygamotorcyclist

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    899
    Location:
    Anchorage AK
    That's the right riser for the bike. Just make sure you can get a brake line made before you get all jiggy. The stock brake line will work on a 1200GS, as Rox says in the ad, but will not work on the F800R.

    Sargent seats are pretty good seats for an aftermarket seat, but you will pay about the same amount of money for a superior custom seat. Check out Rich's Custom Seats. He does a gel seat that IMHO is waaay better than regular aftermarket seats, with gel and leather about $550. I got a quote from KnoPlace for $200 for gel and leather. For $200 I'm definitely going to try them out.
  2. Kahrnage

    Kahrnage Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    The Evergreen State
    I'd contact the dealer. Mine can without the part and my buddies bike came with it. I let my dealer know and they had one for me in less than a week. That part fits in there really tight and I cannot see it falling out so your bike most likely didn't get shipped with one.
  3. moe.ron

    moe.ron Pig. Can. Fly.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Which plate?
  4. flkovacs

    flkovacs Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    sf east bay
    a friend from bmw moa said yesterday:
    I received a response to my email to Anthony Cavanaugh, following up on your issue regarding the gas tank capacity for your F800R. In his response he reports that model year 2011 and prior years, imported into the US had the smaller tank. European models always had the larger tank and it was adopted for the US F800R as a 2012 updates.
    He also said that the matter had been reviewed extensively within BMW including involvement with the Vice President. It is their position that 'the bike is operating as designed and there are no defects in materials or workmanship."
    I am sorry you had the difficulties you encountered when you ran out of gas. It is also unfortunate that you did not get the tank capacity you expected, although your owners manual gives the correct capacity.
    It's not my role to judge correct or incorrect in these matters, but rather to try to solve them, if possible, to our members satisfaction. In this case, a satisfactory resolution to you is not possible. Mechanically, there is nothing that can be done. The issue has also been to the top of their organization, and those decisions are not usually subject to change.
    :norton
  5. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    That is completely false. My friend and I just bought brand new 2012's and they have smaller capacity tanks. What's more, the user manual for 2012 (10.2011 4th edition) has changed it's content to include that the fuel quantity is 3.6 gals (13.5L) which reflects what they actually are. The user manuals before that (06.2010 3rd edition) states that it is 16L which is 4.2 gal. I have the 2nd edition, 3rd edition and 4th edition manuals and a new 2012 F800R for reference.

    What's more your owners manual did not give the correct capacity as it states it's 16L/4.2 gal since you have the 2011. At least with our 2012's the user manual is correct although the BMW website is still incorrect. The manual also has a disclaimer that says it may not say the right thing.
  6. moe.ron

    moe.ron Pig. Can. Fly.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I would swear mine took 3.694 gallons when I filled up yesterday, my fuel light came on 5 miles back. I could be wrong but I made a point to look at how much fuel it took as that was my first tank and I didnt know what the capacity was. Its a 2012 I picked up Tuesday.
  7. flkovacs

    flkovacs Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    sf east bay
    that's encouraging ... does your 2012 user manual specify fuel tank capacity? i found it on the back of my 2011 user manual.
    thanks, i may be looking into getting a '12,
    ferenc
  8. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    That's what it is remember, 3.6 gal and that's what the new owners manual state. The website lists 4.2 gal.
  9. Kahrnage

    Kahrnage Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    The Evergreen State
    <a href="http://s1170.photobucket.com/albums/r534/Kahrnage/?action=view&amp;current=L2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i1170.photobucket.com/albums/r534/Kahrnage/L2.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>
    this one
  10. ADVBMR

    ADVBMR Polygamotorcyclist

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    899
    Location:
    Anchorage AK
    It finally got over 32 degrees today and the 5 foot snowbanks are now only 56 inches. But all this business about gas capacity got me wondering what the big deal is, so I dug out my "Rider's Manual (US Model)" just to check. It's the 3rd edition, June 2010, and state's on the back that the tank capacity is 15.5 liters. Useable fuel is 13.5 liters and reserve is 2 liters. It says that's approximately 3.6 gallons useable and 2.1 quarts reserve. I did a conversion on 15.5 liters and that works out to be a total tank capacity that's slightly over 4.09 gallons.

    I still don't know what the big deal is. You need to get gas when you hit 150 miles. (I fill my GS at less than 200 miles.) If that's truly a problem for some reason, maybe an adventure model or an 800GS would be a better fit. Or, if you want to turn this into a distance sport tourer, you could hang some bags on it and a rack and throw a 2 gallon can on the back. Stranger things have been done in the name of adventure.
  11. ADVBMR

    ADVBMR Polygamotorcyclist

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    899
    Location:
    Anchorage AK
    Hey Kahrnage-

    I took a look at the tail on my bike yesterday. The plastic plate is there and it all makes sense how you rigged the license plate light. The question I have is where you relocated the license plate. If you mounted it where the bracket was mounted, that looks to be pretty far forward and I'm wondering about the clearance. Have you had a chance to wring her out and see if the license plate is hitting the tire? Thanks.

    Roger
  12. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    According to him, no it's not. I followed him for about 120 miles today and i never noticed it even coming close but than again I wasn't focused there either. I know that others have posted in other places that they had to bend it back a little to make sure there was clearance. If you don't and it doesn't clear, you'll notice the tire bending it back on it's own which should be clue 1.

    On another note, I finally got to take mine out today after bringing it home. Put 150 miles on it and I've been riding it hard since I'm breaking it in. Fuel light came on at 134 miles and when I fueled up at 147 miles I put 3.59 gallons into it. I was averageing about 40mpg, far far far away from 65mpg.
  13. moe.ron

    moe.ron Pig. Can. Fly.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    How hard have you been riding? Above 5000 RPM? I have not been babying mine but have kept it between 4000 and 5000 RPM, mine has 275 miles. A couple short bursts above 5K but thats it. I dont want to ride too hard before the runn in check but want to set those rings for sure, dont want an oil burner.
  14. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    Hard. A lot harder than you've been. I have different ideas about break in, ones that you probably don't agree with.
  15. moe.ron

    moe.ron Pig. Can. Fly.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I am sure I would not completely disagree, whats your theory? I have always thought most manufacturers want you to ride softer than they should be.
  16. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    Manufacterers have liability to worry about. They're not going to tell you to go out and pin it for the first 30 miles because when you kill yourself your family will come after them. I've read various thoughts and ideas on the net as well as taken advice from close freinds that race cars and build/rebuild engines. Here's a good link with more than just this one part. I've changed my oil at 39 miles and will change it again after today's 150. I'll proabaly change it one more time about 400+. As someone else said, it's the cheapest performance boost I'll ever get.

    http://www.mototuneusa.com/break_in_secrets.htm

    And while we're at it, here's some information regarding car oil filters that fit motorcycles. Read the link for yourself and decide what ever you like. There are many more topics that will relate off to the left. Educate yourself and come to your own conclusions that suit you. I've got a friend in cars that can get Mann filters for $4 a pop. I just get car oil that works for the few hundred miles to help with break in. Got a deal at O'Reily's for $22 for a gallon of oil and a $20 gift card after sending it in that will get me more oil. I then drain it, replace the filter and go out again hard for the first few hundred miles until most of the break in is done. I'll keep doing that at larger intervals until 2K - 3K and then consider it good. Then I'll switch to the semi-synthetic oil BMW calls for. For now, car oil works just the same. That engine is working hard and that oil is getting used up and cleaning all the little bits out of that engine while I'm floging it.

    http://www.calsci.com/motorcycleinfo/FilterXRef.html
  17. Kahrnage

    Kahrnage Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    The Evergreen State
    I haven't hit the license plate once so far and I've been riding it hard...cornering with full use of tire width, bumpy back roads that have hit me hard in the saddle, and some bad railroad crossings. I don't think it will be an issue on paved roads.
  18. Kahrnage

    Kahrnage Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    31
    Location:
    The Evergreen State
    4,000 RPM's is about as low as I run the engine during normal (to me) riding conditions. I have experimented with the speed/gears to see what the computer's instantaneous GPM's will show. So far the best I've gotten was 70gpm while drafting an 18-wheeler at freeway speed in 6th gear.

    Frankly I think BMW's GPM for this bike is completely unrealistic if not intentionally over-rated. No matter how I ride my R6 it will get low to mid 40's for gas mileage but the F800R routinely does worse than that unless I really try not to exceed 5,000 RPM's. Considering the F800R really doesn't develop a lot of power until it's around 5,000 RPM's this seem's to me to be an intentional marketing ploy to misrepresent the bikes gas mileage because it would be nearly impossible to ride it anywhere but in a flat desolate state or desert and still get the claimed mileage.
  19. moe.ron

    moe.ron Pig. Can. Fly.

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I have seen Motomans page before, good info in there. I have had a couple BMW techs tell me its OK to go beyond 5K rpm after a couple hundred miles, just dont cruise there for miles. Perhaps I have been babying it a bit!
  20. EmanP

    EmanP Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    North of Seattle, WA
    I also removed that charcoil canister today and took a picture of the area with it removed to give an idea of how much space is in there that could be fuel. I'm not sure if this is the only area that makes up the difference between the two tank sizes. Seems like there isn't 2.5L worth of space in there but who knows, maybe.

    [​IMG]