Deactivate the ABS while moving? F800GS

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Migs, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. Migs

    Migs Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    165
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    Friends:
    Is there some way to deactivate the ABS while moving? Are there any special tricks related to ABS on the F800GS?
    Thanks
    Migs
    #1
  2. GB

    GB . Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Oddometer:
    61,132
    You must STOP, press and hold the ABS button till the brake light glows red and then continue. There's no need to turn the engine off. When you want to re-activate it, you must stop, press the button again and go.

    The ABS wheel sensors must not be sensing a rotating wheel in order for this to work, that's why you must stop. I have never seen any bike with switchable ABS where you can turn it off while the bike is in motion as a factory setting. On the SuperTenere 1200 since it does not have an ABS switch, someone made one, so you can turn it off at any time.
    #2
  3. Migs

    Migs Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    165
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    Thanks GB! My ideal would have been to figure out a way to turn it off on the go. Because I forget sometimes. (Most of my riding is off road or dirty slimy road).
    Migs
    #3
  4. GB

    GB . Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Oddometer:
    61,132
    you can't, without triggering a brake fault code and cutting into the bike's harness, such as running a switch to one of the ABS wheel sensors.
    #4
  5. WoodWorks

    WoodWorks House Ape

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,204
    Location:
    Ashland, OR, USA
    Not exactly true, GB. On the F twins you only need to slow to <5 mph to disengage the ABS. It's in the owner's manual, and I've verified this myself a few times now. Granted, it's often easier to just come to a full stop. But you don't have to.

    David
    #5
  6. GB

    GB . Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2002
    Oddometer:
    61,132
    Well, since the speedo doesn't exactly show speeds at or below 5 mph, the bike is basically nearly stationary and barely self balanced, might as well put a foot down, disengage it and ride off :ricky
    #6
  7. EnderTheX

    EnderTheX Dirt Rider

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,815
    Location:
    DFW Area, TX
    Hey, do you have to be in neutral?

    For some reason, I've done it a million times and I can't remember if I ever tried it while in gear (stopped or moving), mostly habit for me to put it in neutral when I come to a stop for ABS....
    #7
  8. Migs

    Migs Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    165
    Location:
    La Paz, Bolivia
    I read somewhere that all you have to do to be in permanent non-ABS is to cover up one of the ABS sensors (like with Duct tape). Anybody tried this?
    #8
  9. EnderTheX

    EnderTheX Dirt Rider

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,815
    Location:
    DFW Area, TX
    Pretty sure this won't work...

    1. These sensors are very close to the ABS wheel so something like duct tape might interfere and you could damage the sensor.

    2. They are Hall effect sensors so they work by detecting the moving metal in the sensor wheel that is mounted to the hub. While these sensors do have to be close to the metal to work, something non-metal between them and the metal wheel should not affect the sensor. These are not optical sensors that you can fool with tape.
    #9
  10. WoodWorks

    WoodWorks House Ape

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,204
    Location:
    Ashland, OR, USA
    Nah, pull in the clutch, hold down the ABS button, and off you go!

    David
    #10
  11. EnderTheX

    EnderTheX Dirt Rider

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,815
    Location:
    DFW Area, TX
    Sweet!!!
    #11
  12. JRWooden

    JRWooden Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,631
    Location:
    The great state of confusion
    I have heard of people unplugging the rear sensor to disable it.
    The connector is under the seat near the rear spring on the twins.
    I have not tried this myself.
    #12
  13. bxr140

    bxr140 Flame Bait

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,042
    Location:
    On high

    I know of an easier way.

    Its about $1000 USD cheaper, too. :wink:
    #13
  14. MTrider16

    MTrider16 Ridin' in MT

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,860
    Location:
    Eastern Montana
    Isn't there a fuse specifically for the ABS?

    David
    #14
  15. WoodWorks

    WoodWorks House Ape

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,204
    Location:
    Ashland, OR, USA
    Nope, no fuses on the F-twins. But I believe that JR is correct. There's a connector under the seat that when unplugged disables the ABS.

    David
    #15
  16. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,000
    Location:
    Southern California
    sure does...

    has someone not come up with a on/off toggle switch yet for the GS line? Kinda odd seeing how the super tenere has been out for only a few months and they already have this nice gizmo... :huh

    http://www.altrider.com/altrider-abs-switch-for-the-yamaha-super-tenere-xt1200z/pid/645

    the 800's and for that matter the 1200's have been out for sometime now... any electricians out there wanna have a go at wiring a toggle switch? :ear
    #16
  17. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,318
    Location:
    San Diego
    I'd buy a switch like that. It would be nice to not have to remember to disable the ABS every time I restart my bike in the dirt.
    #17
  18. ride2little

    ride2little Riding Like the Wind

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,159
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    +2
    #18
  19. JoelWisman

    JoelWisman Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,392
    Location:
    STL, MO, USA
    I would be cautious. The abs sensor harness are shielded coax because the sensor signals are very susceptible to EMI and bad connections.

    If I were doing it to my own bike, i'd interrupt some other wire and do it thoughtfully so that I felt confident I was not jacking with something that could cause ABS to tweak out when I wanted it.

    But yeah, for permanently deactivating, say for a long off road trip, unplugging the sensor wire under the seat works.
    #19
  20. Adventure boy

    Adventure boy Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Oddometer:
    612
    Location:
    London England
    Could someone please post a piccie of what plug to unplug thanks
    #20