Deactivate the ABS while moving? F800GS

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by Migs, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California
    [​IMG]
    #21
  2. EnderTheX

    EnderTheX Dirt Rider

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,815
    Location:
    DFW Area, TX

    Ohhhh so that is what that thing is... :rofl I was down there messing around when I was inspecting my rear shock bolt. I remember thinking to myself "man... this is a pain in the ass, wonder what it is for".
    #22
  3. JoelWisman

    JoelWisman Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,392
    Location:
    STL, MO, USA
    Cool! Thats my finger, I think thats my garage key, the blue line is my extension cord running from my house to my garage, and thats my F800 :)

    Are you famous when people start reposting your pic's?

    Glad someone found it cause I take too many pictures to find one that old lol

    One thing I have found out that I should have thought of long ago.... If you remove that plug and then drop your bike in water, the ABS may fault at a bad moment when you hook it back up.

    I would suggest some plastic wrap and a rubber band to keep the ends dry and clean.

    Have fun, ride fast!
    #23
  4. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California
    what if you wire a switch that breaks the connection underneath the seat... would that not work? :ear
    #24
  5. Bayner

    Bayner Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,697
    Location:
    Penticton, BC
    Yes it sure would. But you're dealing with shielded wiring and that doesn't make it impossible, but it sure makes it a pain. I also don't know if the computer checks for continuity in the circuit constantly, or only at startup.
    #25
  6. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,243
    Location:
    San Diego
    I just sent an email to a smart guy who has done other BMW related electrical projects to see if this is feasible. :deal
    #26
  7. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California
    anxiously waiting :wink:
    #27
  8. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California
    what are you calling "shielded wire" :ear
    #28
  9. bodhizafa

    bodhizafa How hard can it be?

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    655
    Location:
    Louisville, Co.
    interesting thread :ear
    #29
  10. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,243
    Location:
    San Diego
    He says it's doable. I'm going to send him close up pictures of the connectors when I get home so he can cross-reference them against his supply of BMW connectors and then make up a switch to test. I'll keep y'all posted.
    #30
  11. Bayner

    Bayner Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,697
    Location:
    Penticton, BC
    If I was going to try it, I'd look to do the same. Make a switch that just plugs between the stock connectors. No warranty issues, no wiring troubles.
    If the computer isn't constantly checking for continuity or has no minimum absolute voltage trigger, you could run into a problem where the brain box assumes the front wheel is locked because it is not seeing a varying signal when you trip a brake switch. I would assume that would not be the case since we are no longer in 1988.

    Another effective solution would be to place a switch in the power supply to the ABS pump (if equipped), maybe even the valving depending on how it's wired.

    Shielded wiring typically has a metal mesh below the outer plastic skin to reduce electromagnetic interference.
    #31
  12. MonsterJ

    MonsterJ I have motopsychosis

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Oddometer:
    262
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Yeti, your bypass switch will be shielded as well, right? Having been an electronics tech on aircraft for 15yrs believe me when I say if something isn't shielded and it should be, expect nothing but headaches and abnormal behavior. A cell phone in your pocket would place it about a foot away from this connection and could really wreak havoc on the inductance signal coming in from the wheel sensor resulting in unpredictable behavior with the ABS while it's on or while you think it's off. :eek1
    #32
  13. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California

    slow pokes... what do you think I've been doing all night? :lol3

    p.s. - http://www.maxbmwmotorcycles.com/fiche/DiagramsMain.aspx?vid=51598&rnd=03192010

    :deal
    #33
  14. Y E T I

    Y E T I Unpossible

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,243
    Location:
    San Diego
    It sure doesn't look like shielded wiring does it? :dunno

    [​IMG]
    #34
  15. Bayner

    Bayner Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,697
    Location:
    Penticton, BC
    No it doesn't look like it is. I think the wires would look a bit thicker than that.


    edit:
    I looked in the Haynes manual and it doesn't indicate shielded wiring for anything but the CANBUS. Of course, who knows how accurate that is...
    #35
  16. Burnszilla

    Burnszilla BurnsMoto.com

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,364
    Location:
    Redwood City, California
    Yeti and I are working on finding the parts. We found one side and just need the other. I would offer two kits. One with a connector to a switch on the frame below the seat or you can just buy the connectors with wires alone and wire it to your own switch anywhere you want on the bike.
    Please be patient as I'm on the road for most of March.
    #36
  17. bodhizafa

    bodhizafa How hard can it be?

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    655
    Location:
    Louisville, Co.
    This won't mess with the computer? I had a problem with my rear ABS sensor (got hit pretty hard and didn't work after) and it messed with other things, I remember the turn signals not turning off, can't remember what else.
    #37
  18. Burnszilla

    Burnszilla BurnsMoto.com

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,364
    Location:
    Redwood City, California
    We will research and test everything before going to market with this. I don't want to break anyone's bike and be sued.
    #38
  19. Motorfiets

    Motorfiets Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,002
    Location:
    Southern California
    with the ABS unplugged the auto-off turn signal feature does not work... weird I know... :huh
    #39
  20. bodhizafa

    bodhizafa How hard can it be?

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    655
    Location:
    Louisville, Co.
    Lets cross our fingers and hope this works out :D
    #40