Got a GPS on your F800GS Let's See it

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by f800guy, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. davelouw

    davelouw Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Oddometer:
    12
    Hmmmm. Mysterious. It certainly doesn't make sense to me since the GPS does get the signal to power off, which indicates the CANBUS is shutting the circuit off. The only thing I can think of is that I've got something wired wrong that's resulting on the CANBUS either leaving some other circuit on that's draining the battery or that the circuit isn't totally off for some reason.

    Was there any trick to wiring up the 12v -> 5v brick? It's been a while since I did it but I think I just plugged it in and found the positive and the ground wires and then clipped off the third one.

    Dave.
  2. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,697
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
  3. sailer

    sailer trained Cirus Bear

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,010
    Location:
    North Andover, Mass
    who printed that route sheet ? NASA

    :jjen
  4. mario33

    mario33 Howling around...

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    145
    Location:
    Warsaw, Poland
    I dont really like the idea of my gps being mounted on steering bar. I'm looking for a mount just above cockpit, w/o changing whole setup (Mirage is not an option).

    Found something interesting for 1150 GS here: http://www.migsel.com/store/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=6

    Anyone seen something similiar for F8GS ? Otherwise I would have to make it myself :norton
  5. señormoto

    señormoto Supermoto Abuser

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,110
    Location:
    California + Costa Rica

    You bastard. Why did you have to show me that there are Öhlins cartridges available for the F800. ANOTHER thing I have to go order now :evil
  6. stephen.stallebrass

    stephen.stallebrass Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    274
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Zumo 660 in a TT V.2 Mount (black) with the Sun Shield from NN... ignore the jaunty angle, it's been adjusted, LOL!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. JRWooden

    JRWooden Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,643
    Location:
    The great state of confusion
    I want one of those shields ... who's NN ? :lol3
  8. stephen.stallebrass

    stephen.stallebrass Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    274
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Nippy Normans, see here for £12

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    They're great for trapping wasps.... I once had a wasp fly in their whilst cruising down the motorway. It created a mini wind trap that it couldn't fly out of. I carried that little fella for about 10 miles, LOL!
  9. JRWooden

    JRWooden Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,643
    Location:
    The great state of confusion
    Thanks!

    I should'a known!!!
    We don't have NN on our side of the pond, I'm in the US.
    Is it a NN-mfg product or does it perhaps have a vendor name other than "Made in China" :lol3
  10. stephen.stallebrass

    stephen.stallebrass Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    274
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    It has a 'SatNavGear' Logo on it but the NN part number is WUN-8600812... so it might be a Wunderlich item???
  11. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,697
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    You got that right: [​IMG]
  12. JRWooden

    JRWooden Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,643
    Location:
    The great state of confusion
  13. i-link

    i-link Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Oddometer:
    19
    I had a nuvi 550 and was thinking of connecting it to the accessory socket.
    Question is can i just hard wire the usb cable to a dim socket that i bought and connect to my nuvi?
    I know that the socket is running on 12v, will my gps get spoil?
  14. SportFaller

    SportFaller Dirt dont hurt, MUCH

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    668
    Location:
    Laramie, WY
    putting the new Montana on the GS
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  15. eddyturn

    eddyturn Wannabe

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,655
    Location:
    Hesperus, CO
    ^^^ nice!
  16. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,697
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Oh yes. If you put 12 volts into your usb connection, you'll spoil it for sure. Get the right cable and mounting kit and connect that to your battery:

    [​IMG]


    Click the image above to see the details.
  17. BlackBeast

    BlackBeast Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    984
    Location:
    Ontario, CANADA

    Nice setup. Do you experience any glare issues in direct sunlight with the Montana?
    Daryll
  18. Miikka

    Miikka Sir Fallalot

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    127
    Location:
    Bellingham, WA / Finland
    Looks nice!

    I assume Montana is happy with 12 volts..?
  19. señormoto

    señormoto Supermoto Abuser

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,110
    Location:
    California + Costa Rica
    Assuming it's cabled to the motorcycle power setup then yes, if it's plugged in via USB then it's a 5v+ connection.

    "A regular USB port has four pins: two for 5V DC power (with a tolerance of 5%) and ground, and two for data. The maximum current available is 500mA."
  20. i-link

    i-link Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Oddometer:
    19
    Thanks for the info!

    So, I need to get the kit and wire it to a dim plug, then plug into the socket beside the key?
    I don't want to directly connect to the battery!