Got a GPS on your F800GS Let's See it

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by f800guy, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Of course not, but I like to do it right if I can. This way it's always pointed in the best orientation for the signals to work, and it's not easy to steal. The nylon tie I have around it keep it from being lifted quickly, but I left it loose enough that I can just pivot it out of the way to take the SPoT with me if I want to.
    #21
  2. marty hill

    marty hill The Energizer Bunny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Oddometer:
    4,554
    Location:
    marietta, ga.
    Harry, I'm only 5'9" so it would have blocked my view. I sold it and got the TT x-bar. Mounted my 2720 over on the left and can see everything.
    #22
  3. CrazyMike

    CrazyMike ***42***

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    955
    Location:
    Greenville, SC, USA
    I've got this setup with a Zumo. It does partially block the tach. I just flipped the brackets and now the bar is on the bottom. It doesn't block anymore. Good to go:clap .
    #23
  4. dholaday

    dholaday Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Oddometer:
    360
    Location:
    White Salmon, WA
    What mount did you use for your SPOT?
    TIA
    #24
  5. JRWooden

    JRWooden Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,631
    Location:
    The great state of confusion
    Thanks!!!!

    I like it! with the handle bar adapter it MIGHT fit right in the center of the handle bars....

    http://translate.google.com/translate?prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.de%2FHama-Bike-Hard-Universal-Schwarz%2Fdp%2FB0015L5P0S&sl=de&tl=en&history_state0=de|en|


    A casual search didn't turn up any USA vendors.... I'll look some more...

    Jim
    #25
  6. Harry Swan

    Harry Swan One more time

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    1,101
    Location:
    High in the Hollywood Hills
    Thanks folks. I thought about a crossbar but I'll admit to just liking the look of the bracket...
    #26
  7. DiabloBlanco

    DiabloBlanco Intl' Hops Inspector

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    303
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Of course everyone has seen this pretty basic setup, but I'm really pleased with it, RAM mount with the short arm and TT mount (even though my butt hurt a little after paying the toys TT fee). The fact that it locks is pretty worthless if you don't get the extra RAM locking nut (because then if you locked the TT mount, someone could still come up and undo your mount and walk off with it). But the TT does ensure the mount won't be the weak point that gives in the event of... something... But I really like the RAM mount, being able to put the garmin at any angle at any place on the bars. Works out nicely.

    Furthermore, I bought a Garmin power cable and a CANbus cable, so once I solder them together I'll have it powered through the CANbus terminal on top of the battery.

    The 60Csx isn't the best option in any situation (it IS a small screen), but it's a great option in all situations. Plus I use it a lot on the military side of life, so it's my little do everything. In a couple weeks I'll be purchasing the Wanderlust map data from smellybiker.com once version 2 comes out. Hell of a lot better than Garmin's worldmap...

    [​IMG]
    #27
  8. Trout

    Trout Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Oddometer:
    341
    Location:
    SoCal (91356)
    RAM mount attached to the BMW touring screen support. I moved it up recently. It's hard to tell from the photo, but it doesn't block the idiot lights at all. I positioned it more vertical and there is less glare. Now that I have good software and my maps converted to my Mac to route plan I'm very content with this setup. The OR has worked out very well for me both on and off the bike.

    [​IMG]
    #28
  9. SBloke

    SBloke Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    The Netherlands

    That's just what I'm wondering... I didn't know they made mounts for these things.
    #29
  10. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    <img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3461/3387545585_d30b91ce2d_o.jpg" border="0" alt="" /><br />
    <br />
    The SPoT holder fits on <a href="http://www.gpscity.ca/item-ram-mount-diamond-plate-with-rail-mount/rap274.htm" target="_blank">this &quot;RAM Mount Plastic Handlebar Rail Mount and Direct Swivel Diamond Base&quot;.</a> It's not recommended for motorcycle use but I think it's going to work just fine - and I have a tether on the SPoT in case the mount does break, anyway.<br />
    <br />
    #30
  11. tmex

    tmex Long timer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,039
    Location:
    NorCal
    There is no need to mount your SPOT anywhere. It is an emergency beacon. Put it in a pack or pannier and pull it when you need it. Mounting it is just plain dumb IMO.
    #31
  12. 761

    761 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Oddometer:
    343
    Location:
    La La Land

    Not true. From my understanding, in addition to being an emergency beacon you can allow friends or family to track your location/progress and also has a check button that allows you to send an "I'm safe" message.

    But in all fairness, I think I would rather have it on my person, than mounted on the bike. I doubt if I'm in an accident that I will not be thrown far from the bike. I also doubt that I will be able to walk back to the bike with my broken legs. Hence, I want it and the cyanide capsules on my body.
    :huh
    #32
  13. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    If you think it's an emergency beacon you obviously don't know what the SPoT is.

    And considering how long it can take to "Cold Start" I'd rather have it on and running, ready to use while I carry it if it's needed for an emergency.

    Besides, I didn't ask for your opinion.
    #33
  14. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    And I wouldn't want to land on the SPoT unit so that's why I mounted it. The largest hard part I want to carry on me is a cell phone...
    #34
  15. rockinrog

    rockinrog Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,200
    Location:
    Central PA
    +1 on that if you use the tracking feature. I'm not sure you would have to mount it though, but you wouldnt want it in a metal pannier either.
    #35
  16. Lindeberg

    Lindeberg Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Oddometer:
    88
    Location:
    Sweden
    #36
  17. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    BarkBusters - I detailed the process here: BarkBusters = RAM Base Mounting Point
    #37
  18. The Griz

    The Griz Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,856
    Location:
    Minnesota
    http://www.gpsmagazine.com/2008/01/spot_satellite_messenger_perso.php
    • Alert 9-1-1 &#8211; Dispatch emergency responders to your exact location
    • Ask for Help &#8211; Request help from friends and family in your exact location
    • Check In &#8211; Let contacts know where you are and that you&#8217;re OK
    • Track Progress &#8211; Send and save your location and allow contacts to track your progress using Google Maps&#8482;
    It IS a GPS emergency beacon. You defeat its primary purpose by mounting it on the bike. When you're injured and laying 20 or more feet from the bike and can't get to it!:lol3

    The best spot for a SPOT would be one of the chest pockets on your riding jacket.

    Read up on devices before you start claiming things about them. I have a SPOT. Invaluable device.
    #38
  19. johngil

    johngil Reseda, CA

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,814
    My SPOT seems to need a clear sky view. It doesn't work from inside a pocket from my experience.
    I don't use the tracking, so I just send when I know I'll be stopped for a while.
    Just duct tape the fucking thing to your faceshield and be done w/ it.
    It will be on your person AND you'll know it's there.
    #39
  20. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    10,653
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    The best place for my SPoT is where I decide to put it.

    I don't feel like landing on it and perhaps even breaking it in the process, let alone hurting myself so if it's all the same to you, I'll make the decision. I usually ride within my own limits and rarely alone anyway so someone will be able to get to it when the time comes.

    And it's going to be fairly useless if it's off when I need it and I have to power it up and wait until it finds itself before I can send a help or 911 message.

    So you're welcome to use yours as you see fit but yours is not the only way.

    And I've been using mine since December and have read the manuals so I know what it'll do. The other poster said to leave it off til I need it and that's bad advice.

    #40