HB2294 - increased fine for littering

Discussion in 'Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.' started by tod701, Feb 17, 2014.

  1. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    House Bill HB2294 would increase the penalty for dumping up to one cubic foot of litter from $50 to $125.


    http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=2294&year=2013

    Small change, but one in the right direction.

    HB2294 needs to be voted out of the House of Representatives by Tuesday 18-February or it dies.

    If don’t like litterers, you may want to ask both of your House of Representatives members to support this bill.

    If you don’t know who your Representatives are or how to contact them, go to www.leg.wa.gov
    #1
  2. GSguy

    GSguy Here's a quarter.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,160
    Location:
    Valley of the Tulips
    Thanks for the heads up Tod, I'm on it.
    #2
  3. turnsleft

    turnsleft Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,574
    Location:
    Woolley
    Be sure and let us know when they bring up OHV stickers and Disco passes for horses.:deal
    #3
  4. trailrider383

    trailrider383 867-5309

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,457
    Location:
    NP, ID
    Good! Litterers suck! The ultimate in lazy. I've ratted on litterers in Oregon and Idaho and both of them were fined. I was surprised the cops followed up with me and let me know the outcome on both of them. :clap
    #4
  5. tacosupreme

    tacosupreme Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Oddometer:
    313
    Location:
    Pendleton, Oregon
    I heard both riders and horses will have to get the OHV sticker branded on annually.
    #5
  6. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    HB2294 was passed by the House tonight 81 to 17.

    Onward to the Senate we go.

    Thank you to the guys and gals that stepped up and made their voices heard today.

    You made an impact. :deal
    #6
  7. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    That chat was real and good horsy people not opposing the idea . . . .


    . . . .right up until they got the D-Pass forced on them instead :huh
    #7
  8. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    #8
  9. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    Senator Mike Padden is the chairman of the Senate Law and Justice Committee.

    So far he has not been willing to schedule a hearing for HB2294.

    Could there be anyone PRO – litter blocking this bill? :puke1

    If you hate litter and litterbugs, ask him to schedule a hearing. :deal

    Mike.Padden@leg.wa.gov
    #9
  10. GSguy

    GSguy Here's a quarter.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,160
    Location:
    Valley of the Tulips
    Done, thanks Tod for keeping up on this.
    #10
  11. n16ht5

    n16ht5 ride the night

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,430
    Location:
    Arlington, WA
    email sent, thanks Tod
    #11
  12. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    #12
  13. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    Things have moved very fast today.

    HB2294 was passed by the Senate Energy, Environment & Telecommunications Committee and should now move quickly to the Senate Rules Committee. That is the last step before going to the Senate floor for final passage.

    Here are the email addresses for the Senate Rules Committee:


    Brad.Owen@leg.wa.gov
    Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov
    Barbara.Bailey@leg.wa.gov
    Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov
    Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov
    Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov
    Maralyn.Chase@leg.wa.gov
    Bruce.Dammeier@leg.wa.gov
    Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.gov
    Doug.Ericksen@leg.wa.gov
    Joe.Fain@leg.wa.gov
    Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov
    Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov
    Jeanne.Kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov
    John.McCoy@leg.wa.gov
    Sharon.Nelson@leg.wa.gov
    Linda.Parlette@leg.wa.gov
    Kirk.Pearson@leg.wa.gov
    Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov
    Rodney.Tom@leg.wa.gov
    #13
  14. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    HB2294 was passed by the Senate Rules Committee today.

    It is now eligible to be brought before the full Senate for final passage.

    If you support this bill it is now time to contact your Washington State Senator.

    If you don’t know who that is or how to contact them, go to www.leg.wa.gov
    #14
  15. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    5pm today is the cutoff for this bill.



    If you like it, let your State Senator know this morning.

    Even if you already told them, its the stage of the process where reminding them is cool.

    If you put it off until tomorrow, don't bother.



    Find them at www.leg.wa.gov
    #15
  16. Road Rash

    Road Rash Infamous

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Oddometer:
    18,825
    Location:
    The Original OC, in Oregon
    I wish they would do this in Oregon, also wish Oregon would adopt Washington's law on throwing cigarettes out the window :evil
    #16