KTM LC4 (640) Thread Index

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by meat popsicle, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. frdbronco8

    frdbronco8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    246
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    Ok scratch that, I just read on my meter that the power is supposed to be off to the tested unit. I tested the capacitor with positive results. The coil however Im am not sure of.

    0,425-0,575 (is that the same as .425-.575 on the meter?) When I set the meter to the 200 range it reads .7 Any other setting on the meter and it reads 000.
    The coil to plug wire give me a no read indicating no matter what setting its on. (On my meter its a 1 at the front of the display, same as when the leads are held apart and not touching anything).
  2. jonnyw

    jonnyw Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    585
    Anybody got one setup on a ADV or any LC4? I was wondering about the side straps. Or if anyone can finda some pics. thanks
  3. mr. matteeanne

    mr. matteeanne Bender can pass him

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,484
    Location:
    Dualsport Paradise, Olympics
    Where can I buy "dash lights", neutral etc? On a 1997 Duke 620e?
  4. meat popsicle

    meat popsicle Ignostic

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    14,263
    Location:
    Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
    +1

    Check Creeper's valve lash inspection thread discussion; after my first inspection he asked me that very question.
  5. fastdadio

    fastdadio Still gettin faster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,307
    Location:
    Pinckney Mi.
    0,425-0,575 (is that the same as .425-.575 on the meter?) When I set the meter to the 200 range it reads .7 Any other setting on the meter and it reads 000.


    Yes. 200 will usually be the lowest range. Anything over 200 ohms will be infinity. In the 200 range on your meter, touch the test leads together and note the value. subtract that value from the reading you got from the coil. The test leads themselves have a resistance value which must be subtracted to get the true value of the coil.
  6. laramie LC4

    laramie LC4 crash test dummy!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,449
    Location:
    Tucson, Az
    i wired in my own LED's that i got from an electrical suppply store. works like a charm, very durable, and dont burn out. the only catch is you have to wire in diodes if you want the "blinker" indicator to work in both directions. pretty simple process though. if you need i can post a schematic of what you need to do.

    here is what mine look like, i completely removed the speedo (i use the GPS) and then built an aluminum bracket to hold the lights.

    [​IMG]

    laters,

    laramie :beer
  7. laramie LC4

    laramie LC4 crash test dummy!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,449
    Location:
    Tucson, Az

    yes, 0,425 is the same as 0.425 ohms. as for your settings im not sure, my multimeter does all that shit for me, i just have 1 ohm setting.

    remove the ignition wire and read off the coil, see if that changes the numbers. you may have a bad plug wire.

    laramie :beer
  8. frdbronco8

    frdbronco8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    246
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    Thanks all for the info, I will check the plug wire tonight. If i get the same results I believe I will be ordering a coil. Looks like about 85 bucks on Bikebandit.
  9. laramie LC4

    laramie LC4 crash test dummy!

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,449
    Location:
    Tucson, Az

    you can get it cheaper on ktmtalk through Munn racing. i just checked....

    laramie :beer
  10. WVhillbilly

    WVhillbilly Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    11,935
    Nope but I'm getting one :clap
  11. frdbronco8

    frdbronco8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    246
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    Sweet! I just rechecked it and the primary coil test reads .7 I checked with the leads touching each other and it read between .2 and .3 so it looks like that test is just about right since Im looking for .4 to .5ish. The secondary coil test give me no reading (OL). I tried it again directly to where the ignition wire connects to the coil with the same result so Im assuming this means the coil is bad? Im surprised that the bike runs at all this way. Does this make sense? Time to order a coil?
  12. skibum69

    skibum69 slave to gravity

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,624
    Location:
    New Melbourne, Newfoundland
    dancingboy runs one on his 690
    [​IMG]
  13. AWM

    AWM Beard Bros Racing

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Oddometer:
    11,383
    Location:
    Your Mom's house
    Hey guys,,a good friend,noninmate,just picked up a 2000 640ADV,and has been have'n problems with starting the bike.
    For some reason the bike doesn't like to start unless he turns the idle way up.When he turns the idle up,it'll barely start.Then he gets the idle set and rides.Runs great,,,till you shut it off,and try and restart it.Then he has to turn the idle way up again to get it started.
    Anybody have this problem?
    Or what do you guys think?Valves maybe alittle to tight?
    Or is there a common thing with these BST carbs??
  14. HydroDog

    HydroDog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    141
    Location:
    Mossyrock, Wa
    This is the only picture I could find of my bike with the GL on.

    Attached Files:

  15. frdbronco8

    frdbronco8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Oddometer:
    246
    Location:
    South of Seattle
    So much for that, looks like the coil is good after all, I was using the meter wrong. Once I set it to 20K setting it read 12.73 which is within spec for the secondary coil. So, the coil is good, the carb seems good, the capacitor seems good. Ok guys whats next. Im all ears :ear
  16. Zwoehr

    Zwoehr Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Oddometer:
    49
    Location:
    Seattle
    What does your spark plug look like? Check that your choke (enrichment) cable is not adjusted wrong or bound up. How many volts does your battery have? Can you start the bike over and over with the E start? Still sounds like a fuel problem (too much gas) since it happens when it is warm.


  17. slackmeyer

    slackmeyer Don't mean sheeit. .

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,181
    Location:
    Berzerkeley, CA
    How do you get off of that? Your bike, like mine, only has a center stand, and I can't figure out how to get off the bike with packs right in front and behind. Without just laying the bike on it's side, I mean.

    Maybe I should be asking "just how tall are you?"
  18. skibum69

    skibum69 slave to gravity

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,624
    Location:
    New Melbourne, Newfoundland
    break down and buy an SW Motech sidestand from Twisted Throttle-it will make your life sooo much better! One word of advice with it is to seal up the hole in the bottom with silicone
  19. liferider

    liferider Never It's enough

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    648
    Location:
    Patagonia
    Am I the only rider who steps onto the left footpeg to get on and off the bike when it's full loaded??? Am I dishonoring our dirt rider's breed? AM I TOO GIRLY TO BE PART OF ADVRIDER???? :huh
    Please... tell me if I should buy an old little Vespa scooter... yes, those ones you can use a skirt with... :lol3

    Seriously, since the first time I full loaded my bike, I felt using the footpeg like getting on a horse, was the most basic way to go (even though months later I added the side stand).
    .
    .
  20. NitroAcres

    NitroAcres MotoBiggots Suck

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    531
    Location:
    A ChickenHouse in NorthGeorgia
    You are not alone, I do it the same way.. it seems my legs were shipped from the factory about 2" shorter than my 640's were designed for. (Loaded or Unloaded, it is way ez'r)