MOD F800/F700/F650 (twin) GS skid plate and top rack

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by toowheels, Dec 27, 2009.

  1. chris73

    chris73 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    406
    Location:
    vancouver island
    I just got my tool box. Excellent communication from seller. Great customer service, and as always top notch product. I have zero complaints. The skid plate is tough as nails and the toolbox build quality very good!

    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
    [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
  2. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Thanks Chris!

    So glad to hear you like it...and the other parts!! :thumb

    See you out there! :ricky

    Dave
  3. DomEOD

    DomEOD 'murica

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,866
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Dave,

    Do you think a 1.75 gal Rotopax mounted off to the side of the MOD rack with the L-bracket would be alright weight wise?:ear
  4. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi DomEOD,

    Thanks for the q. Hmmm, there was no 1.75gal size when we first designed it so it wasn't tested, but I think it should be OK.

    Dave
  5. DomEOD

    DomEOD 'murica

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,866
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Woohoo! My first mod is on! After some "why did I start drinking first?" moments, it was the easiest mod I've installed on just about anything.

    [​IMG]

    -Sent from outside your window
  6. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Cool thanks DomEOD!!

    Glad you like it! :clap

    Dave
  7. DomEOD

    DomEOD 'murica

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,866
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Here it is with the bag mounted up. Would of not been possible without the rack, that's for sure. I ended up with Wolfman Boulder Beta. Made locally, so I figured why not.

    Did a 400 mile test with the set up today and all went well.

    [​IMG]


    -Sent from outside your window
  8. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Nice and yeah cool that Wolfman is made locally for you! :thumb

    Can you get the bag a bit further back and a bit more vertical? Maybe take the BMW Vario nubbins off to give a bit more space too? You could just put button head bolts in place...or none.

    Cheers :freaky

    Dave
  9. DomEOD

    DomEOD 'murica

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,866
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO

    If I removed the buttons, there's just a sharper ware point left. Im trying to source some regular OEM grab handles now. That will help position the bag in a more upright stance. Where it is forward is great as it's now a backrest.

    -Sent from outside your window
  10. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Ahh yes the backrest. I know that one form the GL Great Basin too. :D

    Dave
  11. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    V3 Skid Plates are back in stock!! :clap

    Top Racks should be back from powder coat next week...fingers crossed!

    For Tool Boxes we're getting low so don't wait too long if you want one.

    Thanks!

    Dave
  12. keeper1616

    keeper1616 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Oddometer:
    155
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    First, I have to say that I love the skidplate and rack that I've got on my F8, big fan.

    Now, here's my question: I'm looking to put a Monokey case on this rack, but I can't figure out what mounting hardware to use. The only mounting kits listed on the Givi website include a plate, and the pictures in this thread don't have it on there. I see that SWMotech and Altrider make what appear to be the right hardware, but I don't want to pull the trigger without some sort of confirmation.

    Has Givi stopped making the kit that we need for this rack, or am I just not looking in the right places? Guidance would be appreciated. Thanks!
  13. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi keeper1616,

    Thanks for the compliment and so glad you like the MOD skid plate and top rack!! :D

    The kit you need from Givi is E115-F1. That's what Twisted Throttle/Alt-Rider/Happy Trail/etc. are all selling. You can also get it from any Givi dealer. It's listed in the small parts section. There's only one version that I know of. Use the rubber bumpers through the holes of the Top Rack to stop the rattling.
    It's the same kit to mount side Monokey boxes so it will never go away.

    This is info that will have to be added to our site on the revamp!!

    Hope this works for you and please let me know if you have any other questions! :deal

    Happy (and healthy) New Year everyone!!! :wave:ricky

    Dave
  14. sarathmenon

    sarathmenon Armchair Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,538
    Location:
    SFO Bay Area
    I've had the MOD top rack for a little over two years. No complaint so far. I've got a question - I have a shad top case, and till now had the shad base plate attached on top of the mod rack. No problems this far, but the top case is now rattling more than before, and I don't really trust the shad plastic plate to hold on for longer. Plus, it's a pain when I have a duffle in the back instead of a top case. Is there something out there like the givi kit that works for the Shad cases? Googling around, I only see SW Motech adapters for the side and top cases. They probably might work since the mod rack has plenty of attachment points, has anyone tried this?
  15. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi sarathmenon,

    Glad to hear you're liking the Top Rack!

    Until now I'd never found separate Shad top case mounts so thanks for pointing it out! Looks like there are two sizes.

    Here it is on Twisted Throttles US site:

    http://www.twistedthrottle.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=shad

    From what I can tell, it should be able to work on the MOD top rack. The rear mounting point looks the same as Givi/Kappa. The mounting for the for "bar" is a little harder to tell but should be able to be made to work. The mounting points may well line up because the SW-Motech steel top box adapters do fit on our rack as well. Chances are they are the same points. Otherwise you'll just have two holes to drill and looks like you may need some longer bolts but I doubt it.
    The rubber bumpers included may not work but you can just get stick on ones from the hardware and put it underneath the box.

    Let me know if you end up going this route and if you have any other q's.

    I'll have to do some poking here too...

    Cheers,

    Dave
  16. sarathmenon

    sarathmenon Armchair Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,538
    Location:
    SFO Bay Area
    Thanks Dave. The small case kit is perfect, it has the bare minimum that I wanted from the sw motech parts, I'll email TT and see if see any concerns. I also have a battery, tire and rectifier to change out, this will happen only if i don't run out of farkle money by then :D
  17. jawn

    jawn Taco Monster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Oddometer:
    85
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    What a nice looking rack! Can the L-bracket be used in the "top" position along with a softbag on the tail? Does the L-bracket come with the rack?
  18. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi jawn,

    Thanks for the question and sorry about the delay in getting back to you over Easter.

    Yes there is plenty of room to put a soft bag behind the L bracket:
    [​IMG]

    That is the original proto Top Rack shown here (and also in the 2" forward setting) but the positioning is the same. You can run the Rotopax @ 90* to this position too or drill lower holes.

    The L bracket is a Rotopax part that we designed our Top Rack to work with but you have to get it from them.

    Please let me know if you have any other questions!

    Cheers,

    Dave
  19. RandoCommando

    RandoCommando Wannabe

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,710
    Location:
    Philthadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Anyone know if the L bracket will hold two 2 gallon cans in the above configuration?
  20. toowheels

    toowheels on a mission...

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    969
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Hey RandoCommando,

    Sorry I missed replying to your question! You can fit a 2 gal. on there no problem dimensionally, but two might be pushing the strength of the L bracket.

    I don't see it listed on Rotopax's site what max capability is.

    Cheers,

    Dave