Quick F800GS question - alarm

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by endurorazor, Jan 29, 2009.

  1. endurorazor

    endurorazor Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Oddometer:
    84
    Location:
    Maryland
    I searched but no answer. Can the dealer retrofit the F800GS with the factory alarm option (code 603) or does the bike have to have it already installed from the factory?
    #1
  2. jessehere

    jessehere Ridin'

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Oddometer:
    806
    Location:
    Jersey(EXIT 10)
    I have retrofitted the alarm and it works but the blinkers don't flash and the light on the guages doesnt either. I believe that can be easily fixed with the BMW computer enabling it. I just need to get the bike to the dealer. I was almost hoping for a sprocket torque recall letter to get it in for free -but no dice. After I get it to the dealer I will report back.
    #2
  3. Harry Swan

    Harry Swan One more time

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Oddometer:
    1,101
    Location:
    High in the Hollywood Hills
    Yes, Jesse is right ... it takes a reset of some sort of the computer. Dealer did a neighbor's bike.
    #3
  4. fenske

    fenske Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    30
    Location:
    sedona az
    how? my dealer tried to move alarm off my 09 800 to my 12 800 and could not make it work?:super
    #4
  5. Loutre

    Loutre Cosmopolitan Adv

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,003
    Location:
    :o)
    since the thread is back from the dead, may I ask how much the refit costs?
    #5