SB5097 - Allow spouses to share hours to earn free D-Pass

Discussion in 'Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.' started by tod701, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    Senate Bill SB5097 would allow spouses to pool their volunteer hours for the purpose of earning a free Discover Pass.

    http://apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/summary.aspx?bill=5097&year=2013

    It has been passed by the Senate and has now been scheduled for a hearing before the House Environment Committee on Wednesday 19-Feb-2014 at 1:30pm.

    If you like the idea, let the committee members know how you feel.

    Here are the email addresses of the committee members:

    Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov
    Jessyn.Farrell@leg.wa.gov
    Shelly.Short@leg.wa.gov
    Liz.Pike@leg.wa.gov
    Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov
    Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov
    Ruth.Kagi@leg.wa.gov
    Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov
    Jeff.Morris@leg.wa.gov
    Terry.Nealey@leg.wa.gov
    Jason.Overstreet@leg.wa.gov
    Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov
    Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov
    #1
  2. 81forest

    81forest ADDRider

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,191
    Location:
    Seattle
    Thank you Tod, keep up the good work. :clap
    #2
  3. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The House Environment Committee hearing is today.[/FONT]

    I will be there to testify.

    Have you submitted your comments to the committee yet?
    #3
  4. 81husky

    81husky Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Oddometer:
    116
    Location:
    North Central Washington
    Shelly Short is my Rep, and I wrote to her, but I suggested a better bill would be to eliminate the Discover Pass altogether.
    #4
  5. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    SB5097 is stuck in committee.

    It was scheduled to be voted out yesterday but the committee chairman Joe Fitzgibbon did not bring it up for a vote.

    The Senate passed this bill unanimously, so I am not sure why he is sitting on it.


    Please ask him to pass SB5097 out of the House Environment Committee.


    His email addy:


    joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov
    #5
  6. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    The House Environment Committee has scheduled a vote on this Wednesday afternoon.

    Still time to contact the members of that committee.
    #6
  7. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
  8. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    House Rules committee is still sitting on SB5097.


    The prime sponsor has suggest that we remind them to pass it out of committee.


    Please email them.
    #8
  9. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    While 2014 Senate Bill SB5097 died when the 2014 legislative session came to an end, 2015 Senate Bill SB5205 will be introduced tomorrow by Senator Randi Becker to do the same thing. :clap

    More details and action items when it gets officially introduced and assigned to a Senate committee. :deal
    #9
  10. T.Low

    T.Low Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    937
    Location:
    Bellingham, Wa
    You do great work, Tod. Thank you.
    #10
  11. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    #11
  12. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    SB5205 was passed by the Senate Natural Resources Committee 7 to zip.

    It now moves to the Senate Rules Committee.

    Their email addresses are:

    Brad.Owen@leg.wa.gov<?xml:namespace prefix = "o" ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    Pam.Roach@leg.wa.gov
    Barbara.Bailey@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Don.Benton@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Maralyn.Chase@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Bruce.Dammeier@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Doug.Ericksen@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Joe.Fain@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Karen.Fraser@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Bob.Hasegawa@leg.wa.gov
    Jim.Honeyford@leg.wa.gov
    Curtis.King@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Mark.Mullet@leg.wa.gov
    Sharon.Nelson@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Linda.Parlette@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Kirk.Pearson@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>
    Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov
    Mark.Schoesler@leg.wa.gov
    Timothy.Sheldon@leg.wa.gov<o:p></o:p>


    If you like the bill, tell them so.
    #12
  13. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    SB5205 has been moved out of the Senate Rules Committee and it is now eligible to be brought up for a vote of the full Senate.

    If you support this bill, please ask your Senator to vote YES on SB5205.

    Find them at www.leg.wa.gov

    Tod
    #13
  14. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    Passed by the full Senate 49 to 0 today.

    Now it goes to House of Representatives.
    #14
  15. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood
    #15
  16. tod701

    tod701 Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,059
    Location:
    Stanwood