Texas Moped laws

Discussion in 'Battle Scooters' started by leakypetcock, Mar 2, 2006.

  1. leakypetcock

    leakypetcock Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    586
    Location:
    South of Canada
    Does anyone know what you need to ride a moped on the street? I'm a Montana resident stationed in Texas. I have an '81 Vespa Grande moped that I inhereted from my dad, but it doesn't even have a title. We've owned it forever and just rode it in Montana but I don't want to get busted here. Do you need to register something that small (49cc) or can you just go for it?
    Thanks in advance
    Scotty:ear
    #1
  2. Seth S

    Seth S Will _____ for _____

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,841
    Location:
    sanity?
    #2
  3. Photog

    Photog Charismatic Megafauna Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    46,308
    Location:
    Cackalacky
    (8) "Moped" means a motor-driven cycle that cannot attain a speed in one mile of more than 30 miles per hour and the engine of which:

    (A) cannot produce more than two-brake horsepower; and

    (B) if an internal combustion engine, has a piston displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less and connects to a power drive system that does not require the operator to shift gears.

    (9) "Motorcycle" means a motor vehicle, other than a tractor, that is equipped with a rider's saddle and designed to have when propelled not more than three wheels on the ground.

    (10) "Motor-driven cycle" means a motorcycle equipped with a motor that has an engine piston displacement of 250 cubic centimeters or less.

    *********

    (b) A moped is subject to inspection in the same manner as a motorcycle, except that the only items of equipment required to be inspected are the brakes, headlamps, rear lamps, and reflectors, which must comply with the standards prescribed by Sections 547.408 and 547.801.

    ************


    MOPED LICENSE.

    (a) A person may not operate a moped unless the person holds a driver's license. An applicant for a moped license must be 15 years of age or older.

    (b) The department shall administer to an applicant for a moped license a written examination relating to the traffic laws applicable to the operation of mopeds. A test involving the operation of the vehicle is not required.

    (c) An applicable provision of this chapter relating to a restricted Class M license applies also to a moped license, including a provision relating to the application, issuance, duration, suspension, cancellation, or revocation of that license.
    #3
  4. leakypetcock

    leakypetcock Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    586
    Location:
    South of Canada
    So much for the easy answer! Does anyone on here regularly ride a moped on the street in Texas? If so, is it licensed? I have both a driver's license and a motorcycle endorsement so that's not the question. My concern is insurance and registration on the moped itself. I'm not a lawyer so the DPS website is a little confusing to me.

    Thanks again,
    Scotty

    2003 KLR 650
    1981 Vespa Grande Moped
    #4
  5. KaminoChiizu

    KaminoChiizu Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Oddometer:
    161
    Location:
    Statesvegas, NC
    Just ride it. If you get pulled, tell 'em you rode it down from Montana.:lol3
    #5
  6. ysr612

    ysr612 Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Oddometer:
    10,098
    Location:
    Beaumont, texas
    It does need a title and a plate. If you were not in the military I would say just ride it and play ignorant. Thats what I do with my elite 80.

    ps I am very good a playing ignorant.
    #6
  7. ciao

    ciao Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Oddometer:
    53
    I don't know about title, but unless the laws have changed you don't need a tag. I used to ride my Puch moped all around Houston.

    [​IMG]

    This isn't mine, but mine looked exactly like this one.
    #7
  8. rider33

    rider33 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,137
    Location:
    The Wilds of Western Wisconsin
    I bought a '64 Solex that had been crashed and then left in a shed for 35 years and spend the winter restoring it. I figured that it would need maybe bicycle tags but man, was I in for an education. When I went to get tags they asked for my title. I told them I bought it at a junk shop for 160 bucks. I had to fill out a 3 page form, take 4 pictures of the bike and sign something to the effect that if it proved to be hot, the state would not be held liable (stolen 40 yr old 48cc mopeds apparently being a major problem in Minnesota). Then
    I had to show proof of insurance. My insurance company
    first quoted me more than I pay for my KLR until I pointed out
    that it was a moped capable of the astounding speed
    of up to 25 MPH assuming your going down hill with the wind
    at your back. At this point it was begining to feel like I was in some B-version of Alice's Resturant but having had one of these as a kid (and having a daughter that wanted to us it this summer) it became a cruisade. In the end, I got insurance down to the pizza an beer range, got the title (30 or 40 bucks later as I recall) and finally got my tags. It's the tags that matter, without them you likely are a mark for the cops tho I don't know didely about Texas law. It certainly was a good deal more complex than when I had one of these in the '70's but then again, what isn't? Go for it tho, itty-bitty bikes like these are a ton of fun. The 50 miles a quart I get doesn't hurt either.....
    #8
  9. reddogguy1

    reddogguy1 Flying Under The Radar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    442
    Location:
    Steamy Hot Texas Coast
    Apply for the Title, pay the $20, and forget about it, you must have the scoot registered to you to obtain insurance - which is the key
    #9
  10. leakypetcock

    leakypetcock Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    586
    Location:
    South of Canada
    Why didn't you tell me this stuff the day we were installing my racks on your KLR in my garage? That could have saved a lot of time. Jeez, what kind of community is this!
    I'll hit the DMV this week to see what paperwork I need, and if it's really only 20 bucks.
    Thanks,
    Scotty
    #10
  11. reddogguy1

    reddogguy1 Flying Under The Radar

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    442
    Location:
    Steamy Hot Texas Coast
    We were not scooter queers then!:eek1

    [​IMG]
    #11
  12. leakypetcock

    leakypetcock Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    586
    Location:
    South of Canada
    Well...I was.
    #12
  13. scootertrash

    scootertrash Mobile Homie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    2,074
    Location:
    "My leg's tired, let's live here."
    We went through this last year when we bought a Zuma 50cc scooter. There is some confusion around here so we have been able to skate. The scooter got a license plate with "Moped" sticker on the bottom. My son has been the majority rider of the scooter and hasn't been pulled over (yet). His friend has a Vespa ET2 (50cc). Because my son's scoot can go over 30mph, it's technically disqualified. Also, he is only 13 , so strike two. I called the dad of the Vespa kid and he told me his son was pulled over so he provided paperwork that got his son off....I guess it's a crap shoot....
    #13
  14. 20070411

    20070411 n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2
    If it has a motor (electric or internal combustion) then it is a motor vehicle. You will need registration, inspection, and insurance.

    You will also need to be >= 15 years old and have at least a restrictive "k" class "m" motorcycle license.

    I know personally that a no insurance ticket will be a $1000 fine from the State of Texas over a three year period. You might also be subject to a license suspension and be forced to get an SR22 insurance policy to get it back.

    It appears that the inspection is less restrictive for a moped though.

    http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/msb/txmclaws.htm#Chapter%202

    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]VEHICLES AND EQUIPMENT SUBJECT TO INSPECTION.
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]* * * * * ​
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif](b) A moped is subject to inspection in the same manner as a motorcycle, except that the only items of equipment required to be inspected are the brakes, headlamps, rear lamps, and reflectors, which must comply with the standards prescribed by Sections 547.408 and 547.801.

    [/FONT]
    [/FONT]
    [/FONT]


    http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/msb/mcintexas.htm

    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Registration. Every owner of a motor vehicle, including motorcycles, motor scooters, and mopeds that will be ridden on public roadways, must register their vehicle through the County Tax Collector in their county of residence. A license plate must be attached to the rear of the vehicle, and must include a sticker showing current registration.
    [/FONT] [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Inspection. All motor vehicles registered in Texas, including motorcycles, motor scooters, and mopeds, must be inspected each year at an official motor vehicle inspection station. When the motorcycle passes inspection, an approved certificate must be placed near the rear license plate. These certificates are good for one year from the month of inspection.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Insurance. All motor vehicle operators must show proof of liability insurance when the vehicle is registered or inspected, or when getting an operator license.[/FONT]
    #14
  15. Photog

    Photog Charismatic Megafauna Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Oddometer:
    46,308
    Location:
    Cackalacky
    Good answer...but about a year late. :lol3
    #15
  16. 20070411

    20070411 n00b

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2
    This is not true. You can call any insurance company and get an insurance policy so long as you have the VIN. l have purchased many bikes and cars and done this before I picked them up. Otherwise you would be using the previous owners insurance and he would be responsible if you crashed on the way home.

    You must have the insurance before you get the registration anyway. The vehicle registration office asks for it when you are doing the paperwork.

    I usually get the insurance policy then pick up the bike/car and get the state inspection the next day. After the inspection is complete I go do the title transfer and get the current registration.

    However, you don't need a license to get the insurance policy, transfer the title, or get the inspection.

    Oh, and better late than never... :-)
    #16
  17. spanky

    spanky Well, maybe...

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,764
    Location:
    Central CO
    [​IMG]
    #17
  18. RLK

    RLK 4,949

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Oddometer:
    6,554
    Location:
    CSprings
    :lol3 last time around w/ registering a vehicle, the county told me I had to have insurance before the'd register it. The ins. co. told me I had to have it registered before I could buy ins. I explained this nicely to the ins lady on the phone, then not so nicely a second time, then, "DOES YOUR FU@#$%G COMPANY WANT MY MONEY OR NOT BECAUSE SOMEONE OUT THERE DOES!!"

    They faxed proof of ins. to the county clerk's office about 15 minutes later. In another 3 minutes I had plates in hand.
    #18
  19. yater

    yater Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Oddometer:
    8,517
    Location:
    Texas
    +1...I've registered at least 20 bikes in Tx and insurance comes first. I usually have the bike insured before I pick it up (even when buying out of state). You don't need to have anything but the VIN to insure a bike in Tx.
    #19
  20. leakypetcock

    leakypetcock Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    586
    Location:
    South of Canada
    So, I'm a legal resident of Fergus County, MT. I have my cars and KLR 650 registered there, and they don't require registration on the moped. Now what? I live in Texas because I'm in the military, do I go by Montana law, or Texas? HELP!!!
    #20