The final stage of the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge has concluded.  Andrew Short finished the 5th and final stage in 10th place but maintained 5th place overall.

Running a 351 KM stage, Short was able to complete the 214 KM timed special with a time of 3:05:51.  Short was the 3rd rider to enter the stage at about 7:00 AM local time.  The Husqvarna mounted rider had good pace and navigated through the mountainous sandy terrain well.

Technical Issues

Unfortunately, Short once again lost time because of a technical issue.  Short had previously dropped from third place to fifth place when he was forced to stop for an undisclosed technical issue.  He was able to repair the problem but the damage was done and Short was unable to make up additional time to move up the scoring ladder.  What the issues actually were is not clear.

Powering through the dunes. Photo credit: Husqvarna

Short had this to say about his performance:

“This last day has been good for me, I felt really good all day and had a good pace. Just near the end I had a small issue but I was able to quickly get going again and complete the stage. Overall, I have really enjoyed the race here in Abu Dhabi, it’s been a great experience and fun to be here with the crew. I feel my riding has improved here, each rally I do it feels like I move up another level and it’s very important to keep that momentum going. Real race experience is so valuable and it’s good to leave here healthy and even faster. Admittedly, it’s not quite the result I was hoping for but we had to play the cards we were dealt and I think we handled it perfectly. I’m now really looking forward to the next race.”

Andrew will compete in the second round of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship.  The Silk Way Rally will take place in Russia and will commence on July 6.

Provisional final results

The provisional final results for the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge are as follows:

1. Sam Sunderland (KTM) 17:46:42
2. Luciano Benavides (KTM) 17:55:02
3. Jose Ignacio Cornejo (Honda) 17:56:41
4. Kevin Benavides (Honda) 18:21:33
5. Andrew Short (Husqvarna) 18:48:22
6. Ryan Blair (Husqvarna) 19:23:33

We’ll keep you up to date with more coverage of the FIM Cross-Country Rallies World Championship as it evolves.




Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Thank you for subscribing!
This email is already subscribed.
There has been an error.