¿Hablas Español?

Discussion in 'Latin America' started by AntWare, Mar 5, 2007.

1. AntWare

AntWare Lost In Translation

Oddometer:
    Is there a thread already that addresses learning Spanish?

Is there enough interest to keep one going?

I know in my ADD addled case only immersion will help, but unlike Lone Rider I have to hold down a job year round so jetting off to Guatemala for a couple of months is out of the question.

I’ve got the basics down and every time I go I pick up more, only to lose it again within weeks of leaving.
    I’ve been using these podcasts for a couple of months to help refresh my memory and find them pretty helpful.

They cover most of the useful basics in an easy to understand format.

It does teach “Spanish” Spanish and the fella’s over-exaggeration sounds as though he has a lisp, but, where different, they also tell you the Latin American pronunciations.

The guy/gal are both Glaswegian so their accents might be a tad distracting at first.

I’m not sure if my Spanish is improving but my Scootish is fecking brrrrrilliant :lol3

Maybe we can keep the discussion going and those that speak the lingo (Lobby, Adios Pantelones, Navigator etc.) could help us gringo’s out a little, maybe field a few questions, let us know what’s relevant, works/doesn’t work :dunno

Anyhoo, just thought I’d share.

Coffee Break Spanish
  2. judjonzz

judjonzz Beastly

Oddometer:
    Try Rosetta Stone interactive immersion software. I only got about 2/3 of the way through level 1, and my communication skills this year in Mexico were easily twenty times what I could muster last year. Never had a Spanish lesson in my life. This stuff is spendy, but it sure works. I still point and grunt, but at a much higher level. Understanding a native speaker at full chat (or at any speed really) is still a challenge, but I find I can read more and more of newspapers, signage, etc. I really was amazed at how much more I could do this year.