“Dash cams” for motorcycles?

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Reconstructed, Apr 8, 2020.

1. Reconstructed

Reconstructed Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    So about four years ago I was riding on a backroad and this dude turned left in front of me. Several broken bones and lots of stitches later, the court case was dismissed, because dude was lying his ass of, but I couldn’t prove it.

I just started riding again this year, and I want to record my rides, just in case this type of thing happens again.

I have a GoPro hero 7, but the damn thing has a mind of its own. It stops recording after a few seconds, won’t let me connect through the app to delete unneeded files...I’m just not having a good experience with it overall.

I’m thinking about getting one of the Garmin Dashcams and mounting it to the bike, but I’m wondering if there is a better option out there?
  2. Daboo

Daboo Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    Check out the Halocam M1. You'll find it on Amazon. I wrote a review of it earlier.

Chris
    draco_1967 and SmittyBlackstone like this.
  3. Suncoaster

Suncoaster Long timer Supporter

Oddometer:
    Where the girls are green and the grass is pretty.
    SmittyBlackstone likes this.
  4. danielbak

danielbak Adventurer

Oddometer:
  5. jfauerba

jfauerba Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I've been using Mobius for several years with no issues.
  6. Specularius

Specularius Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I installed a BlueSeaSky DV688 on my Africa Twin in August 2018. It has been working as expected. Here is a sample video from my ride in Colorado in August 2019 on Hwy 550.
    CRracer712 and SmittyBlackstone like this.
  7. Daboo

Daboo Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    The advantage of "dash cams" like the Halocam M1 , Innovv or BlueSeaSky are they are wired into your bike and are mostly install and forget...till an accident.