1,300 miles, 4-6 days, $500, on a scooter

Discussion in 'Americas' started by twistedkeys, Dec 9, 2011.

1. twistedkeys

twistedkeys Utahrd

Oddometer:
    So I've been thinking about this a lot lately. I need some pros to tell me if I'm being realistic or if I'm going to die. I can probably trade my old CR250 for a newish Elite and come up with some cash somehow.

Who: Me myself and my bike....and God.

What: Mid 90's Elite 80/125/150, a sleeping bag, a tent, an iPod Touch with internet email etc., $500, an OHV and learners permit (that's right, no license), tools, oils, spare spark plug, spare belts, and a tire.

When: Summer 2012

Where: From Central Utah to Los Angeles (or near-by places; Newport, Santa Monica, Malibu, etc.).

How: By riding as much as possible (15-20 hour rides), skimping on "dinner", planning ahead with a map and my gps, and riding on secondary-highways all the way there.

Why: The season of summer 2012 will be my very last time to myself. Right now I'm studying like crazy, and after that I'm heading to college for 5 years, getting married, and so on. Summer 2012 will be my last time as a kid. I also want to do something that'll make me a real man since I would have just turned 18. It'll be an adventure. Also I used to live in LA and miss it greatly. I have not seen a beach for 12 years.