1 Mom, 2 Teenage Sons & 9K Miles Western US Motorcycle Trip

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by AdrenalineGirl, Apr 23, 2015.

1. AdrenalineGirl

AdrenalineGirl Adventure Junky

Oddometer:
    "Hey boys, do you want to head out west on our motorcycles this summer?"

"YES! WHEN?" was the enthusiastic response I got in return.

Isn't that how most motorcycle trips with Mom start? I suppose, but to be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect. So even after I reminded them that they'd be stuck with me for two months, they were still fired up and ready to go. With that amount of enthusiasm, I figured it was ok to let the trip planning begin.

My job is flexible (I am a marketing consultant and can work from wherever I am). The boys, Riley is 16 and Robbie is 18, have taken 2 months off from their jobs. My husband Lorin is the least flexible with his career and will be joining us for the first week, a week in the middle, and the last week of our rambling journey. You can read a bit more about us here (if you'd like).

[​IMG]

Since we still have snow on the ground here in Upper Michigan, the next three weeks are going to be a crazy scramble to get our bikes, ourselves, and our gear ready for the next 9,000 miles. Here's our tentative route:

[​IMG]

My plan is to camp out as much as possible, visit some family along the way, ride a lot of epic roads, and to show my boys some of this country's most gorgeous places. Oh, and blog about it along the way.

Info on our bikes, gear, etc., will follow soon...

Flyin' Monkeys and piratehood like this.
  2. Gale B.T.

Gale B.T. Long timer

Oddometer:
    With a trip like this , with family , all on individual bikes, you can bet there will be lots of us ADV type following your adventure.

Ride safe/smart
    Best of everything!!
  3. DaMonk45

DaMonk45 I B Da Monk

Oddometer:
    Im In.
  4. Shmily

Shmily Adventurer

Oddometer:
    With a hot biker mom like that, I'm in....
  5. OnTheWay

OnTheWay Rock Liu

Oddometer: