110-Miles of Colorado Dirt Roads.............10-27-2018

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Day Trippin'' started by Skunk-Works, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Skunk-Works

Skunk-Works Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Since I am new to this whole BIG-ADV-Bike thing, and need to get a better feel for the bike, and more miles under my belt, I thought "what better way than to just pick a general direction, and get on it!"................so Saturday, that's exactly what I did!

I had an idea which way I wanted to go, and it was going to be the best day for some time to come (Weather wise). I had no other plans for the day other than a Halloween Party later that evening in Castle-Rock, so after Coffee and Breakfast, I checked the bike over, geared-up, and off I went!

I ended up Riding a 253-Mile loop, with 110-miles of it on Dirt Roads.................
    I sometimes run a free GPS-tracker app on my work-phone. This was my route.
    IMG_3337.PNG

I started in Aurora at the Gas-Station a couple blocks from my house. I made my way to the 225, then the 25 heading south. I exited at Happy Canyon Rd, and rode to Sedalia where I turned onto Hwy-67. After a short twisty ride up the ridge, I turned onto the dirt of Rampart Range Road and headed south.
    I found the road to be in great shape, and quickly fell into the rhythm of its wide curves. This section of the road was easy, but an occasional patch of deeper loose dirt or tight hairpin kept my attention............The northern 3/4ths of this road is in the trees, with only a sparse few lookout points for scenic views unless you venture off on one of its many side-trails or jeep-roads.

IMG_3272.JPG

Mile after mile I snaked my way through the trees. As I made my way south I would catch an occasional glimpse of Pikes-Peak, looming ever and ever larger each time it would enter my field of view..................I continued on.