1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

1150 GS - Indicator not flashing...but not a blown bulb

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by tomm1666, Apr 21, 2019.

1. tomm1666

tomm1666 n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello,
    First time poster here. Hopefully this is the right place to post for a technical fault/query. I'm new to GSs and have been searching forums for a similar issue being discussed. I can't find one so hoping that somebody has some advice here. Help would be much appreciated.

I recently bought an old 1150 GS for a bit of weekend fun and maybe some longer trips in the summer. It's a 2002 bike with 60k miles, all standard, looks a bit scruffy but lots of history and (so far) seemingly mechanically solid.

Last week I noticed the rear right hand indicator was not working. Front right indicator is fine (but obviously fast blinking as the rear is out), and both the left side indicators are working as normal. I picked up a replacement bulb from my local BMW dealer and got around to switching it today.

Taking out the old bulb, the filament didn't look blown but I fit the new one anyway just in case.
    It didn't work! Based on my diligent diagnostic approach I conclude it's not the bulb.
    So...before I ride to the garage, I wondered if anyone has any advice or had a similar fault on the 1150?
    As my DIY electrical fault skills are 'Beginner', I'd hoped this might be a fuse issue although I don't know where to start with the 1150 GS fuse box...apart from what I have read in the workshop manual.

Anyway, I'll leave it there but would be grateful for any advice!
    Cheers,
    Tom
  2. VX Rider

VX Rider Long timer

Oddometer:
    the is a short somewhere, or a loose connection
    trace the wires
    dont take it to the shop
  3. usgser