12 990 Speedo out? Help please

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by bikeondirt, Sep 7, 2019.

  1. bikeondirt

    bikeondirt dude

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Longmont
    I’m hoping someone here may be able to help. I have 2012 990 ABS, and the Speedometer is not working, just shows zero, and it is not recording Miles on the ODO. This happened after a fairly rocky ride, and a good wash. I have read through a number of posts, and have replaced the R/R, Battery and also the front ABS sensor. I have a new ignition relay on the way as well. Has anyone else had this issue, and found out anything different? Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    5,629
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    The wire breaks around the lower triple clamp area from the constant twisting.
    Find the break, repair and re-route.
    But if you replaced the ABS sensor, that may not be the case.
    #2
  3. BackseatFlyer

    BackseatFlyer Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    33
    Location:
    Navarre, FL
    Have you checked, cleaned, or replaced the rear sensor as well? They’re both part of the ABS system, but I’m not sure if the speedo relies on the rear as well. My speedo was doing something similar, and I fixed it by cleaning and remounting both front and back.
    #3
  4. bikeondirt

    bikeondirt dude

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Longmont
    Thanks, I will give that a try, and maybe use the new sensor on the rear.
    #4
  5. bikeondirt

    bikeondirt dude

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Longmont
    I
    I just cleaned, and used the new sensor on the rear, and no change unfortunately. Thanks for the suggestion.
    #5
  6. BackseatFlyer

    BackseatFlyer Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2019
    Oddometer:
    33
    Location:
    Navarre, FL
    Dang, sorry. It sounds like you’ve done all the normal fixes, so I wonder if it’s something small or weird. Maybe there’s a fuse blown, loose/dirty plug or connector, or broken wire somewhere.
    #6
  7. bikeondirt

    bikeondirt dude

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Longmont
    Tested the sensor plugs to see if they were getting power, they are not. I am wondering if it is the actual ABS electronics box/plug on the abs pump. Any chance any one knows a good way of testing it?
    I would love to ditch the ABS, but the electronics box would need to stay.

    Thanks
    #7
  8. DirtyADV

    DirtyADV Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,185
    Location:
    SWEDEN, Norsjö
    Fuse? Might be a different box on an early bike that had ABS? Have part from a 2006 that was possible to add a separate speedo sensor on so entire box is off the bike.

    Was done by a previous owner.

    /Johan
    #8
  9. airjammer

    airjammer Western Colorado

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    590
    Location:
    USA
    My 990R is non-ABS and yes the Speedo has gone out 2 times.
    Blame it on, beating it up and lotsa rough roads and technically challenging terrain, which may be the culprit.
    I've just left mine since the last time it went out.
    #9
  10. Off Road Ryder

    Off Road Ryder Long timer Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,736
    Location:
    Kent Wa
    The speedo wire is the only input to the speedo(for speed reading) on the 990. the wire is most likely broken. pretty easy and cheap to replace. Just didone yesterday. have had 3 others do the same thing.
    #10