1200GS: The Faulty Fuel Strip Thread

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by ARG, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. JeffinTD

    JeffinTD Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,531
    Location:
    NE Oregon, The Dalles
    I just had my 2nd one take a dump.

    I guess I'll take advantage of the warranty extension instead of trying the fix, though getting to a dealer isn't happy, in hopes the newer strips might be improved.
  2. Voyager II

    Voyager II Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Oddometer:
    209
    Location:
    Williamsburg
    Does an early 2005 R1200 GS have floats or fuel strips? My gauge reads completely full until about ½ tank, then all of a sudden, the bars jump from reading full to reading ½ tank. The bars seem accurate the rest of the way to empty.
  3. brianstanfill

    brianstanfill has adventure

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    222
    Location:
    Touring
    With the help of this thread and five Peruvian Soles, my fuel gauge works!

    I disassembled a small cigarette piezo lighter and found it to fit quite nicely into a 2-pole SAE connector. I added some pins to the ends of the wires and shocked the fuel strip as others have instructed. Thank you all!

    (And by "works" I mean it incorrectly reads the fuel level like new!)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  4. NJCapoNut

    NJCapoNut Dirty Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Vero Beach, Fl
    Hey guys,

    Pics are gone......Can somebody please tell me where the connector is located? 2 middle pins leading to the strip with a full tank of gas right? And other info/pics would be appreciated. Just bought a 2009 GSA with the blinking yellow fuel light.

    Thanks,
    Bill
  5. brianstanfill

    brianstanfill has adventure

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    222
    Location:
    Touring
    Bill, consider taking it to a BMW dealer for free replacement. BMW Santiago replaced mine, no charge. Service bulletin 16.002.14(017) component specific warranty level extension for 12 years and unlimited mileage.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1423752977.789081.jpg

    If you still wish to try the repair yourself, the connector has four pins. The two you need to "spark" are the two inside pins.
  6. NJCapoNut

    NJCapoNut Dirty Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Oddometer:
    261
    Location:
    Vero Beach, Fl
    Thanks Brian,

    Waiting 3 days for dealer to get back to me on this. If it can be fixed doing the "zap" figure its worth a try. This strip that's in the bike now was replaced less than a year ago.

    Where is the connector located?
  7. brianstanfill

    brianstanfill has adventure

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    222
    Location:
    Touring

    At the top of the tank, left side. It's best if you loosen and move the left side panel to access the plug. Look for the cable that enters the tank aft of the fuel lines and fuel pump. It's a wrapped cable with plastic plug that pulls straight out.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1423765887.637756.jpg
  8. brianstanfill

    brianstanfill has adventure

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    222
    Location:
    Touring
    Also, it's best if you can find or make an insulated connector to fit into the plug receptacle. Otherwise you risk the terminals sparking outside the resistive circuit and not arcing (repairing) it. Good stuff in this thread.
  9. JeffinTD

    JeffinTD Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,531
    Location:
    NE Oregon, The Dalles
    Mine is dead again too, and the closest dealer isn't very handy.

    Has anyone found out for sure if the fuel strip has been improved?
  10. brianstanfill

    brianstanfill has adventure

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Oddometer:
    222
    Location:
    Touring
    Not improved. Abandoned. Others have said the new bikes use float sensors.
  11. Callisto224

    Callisto224 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,935
    Location:
    GA
    One of mine (the second one) lasted only about 3 weeks. there is no rhyme or reason as to when they go out. First one lasted a few years and the 3rd one has as well (so far, at least).

    And yes, BMW switched to a float sometime during the 2010 production year.
  12. TXjames

    TXjames High Sider

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,207
    Location:
    Central Texas
    For those of us who don't live near a dealer it's just not practical to have the strip changed everytime it dies. Free or not. For all of us it's a waste of time.

    [​IMG]

    BTW, I had my fuel pump replaced under extended warranty with this spoof in place. The dealer not only performed the service but the mechanics wanted to know how I got this to work.
  13. travelbt

    travelbt n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    EU
    Hi there, I tried the piezo application several times with two different piezos. In my case the problem is, that the strips always show that the tank is empty. During the first ride after the application the fuel strips react and rise to the middle. But after that (second ride) same result: constantly EMPTY again. Anybody ideas? What if I would change the sensor with another (defect) one. Would the piezo application recalibrate a new sensor? If so, does anybody have any instructions (maybe with pics) for the replcement? Thanks in advance...
  14. cjack

    cjack Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Oddometer:
    866
    Location:
    Illinois
    You need a new strip. I would just use it without recal, and that can only be done with GS911 or dealer computer.
  15. BMWBUD

    BMWBUD I couldn't hack it. Back on two wheels.

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,498
    Location:
    Mid-Wurst Southern Illi-noise
    I had mine replaced 4 weeks ago. It is now bad.:baldy
  16. Callisto224

    Callisto224 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,935
    Location:
    GA
    As I wrote above, my second one lasted about 3 weeks. The bad part was I didn't learn my lesson about using a trip odometer to know when to fill up. I was in rush hour traffic on the highway when I ran out of gas! Not a pleasant experience at all! :doh
  17. bykemike

    bykemike "ready to navigate" Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,074
    Location:
    St. Augustine FL
    Another plug for the spoof circuit by TX James. Every time I get on my bike it puts a smile on my face. Full tank, always! I wouldn't trust one of those strips for anything
    and would end up driving of my odometer and my Zumo anyway so why not look at a full tank? With no flashing light too.

    It took me just a little while to fab and install, James needs an award or something.
    TXjames likes this.
  18. Bearintheair

    Bearintheair n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3
    Location:
    Bath UK

    Hi, I've just come across this thread, I am very interested with the above instructions, however, I am unable to see the images, is there any chance they can be reloaded, cheers
  19. FlowBee

    FlowBee Just me.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    6,873
    Location:
    Stasis.
    BMW should give current owners of Hexheads with fuel strips vouchers for $2k off a new bike when traded in.

    :D
  20. drussdog

    drussdog Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    375
    Location:
    Bulli, Australia
    Just tried the zap repair and it did not work, very disappointing as the warranty extension is not available in Aussie land. So only fix is to pay for a new one and hope that works. At least i will have a warranty on the new one.