125cc adventure through europe. 8500km

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by JoppeBos, Aug 16, 2020.

1. JoppeBos

JoppeBos Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Since I graduated this year the plan to go on adventure became finally reality. It is a trip that I have been thinking about for a long time. We left the first of June and just got back from it. I would like to write it all out, get my notes and pictures and share it with you guys.

(cool pic from the trip to get your attention)
    IMG_20200712_145010.jpg

The plan for the trip was to go from The Netherlands to Turkey, and back. No single highway and a lot of offroad tracks from the TRANS EUROPA TRAIL. Corona spiced the trip up along the way.
    The daily budget has been around 20 euro a day. Which seems impossible, but is super doable if you just wildcamp and don't drive a tank.

The longer I am riding motorcycles the smaller bikes I seem to buy. It is my own counter culture against the big BMW's that I see struggling in the dirt here in the Netherlands. Just no one joins my culture yet ;)

After selling my XT600 I bought a 125cc Yamaha. Life is just so easy on a small bike! Easy to fix and mostly dirt cheap. A mileage of 1/50 gives me a 650km range (400 miles) on this small 13L tank. From trips I have made before I just know that I prefer a buddy on the road. So I persuaded my man Jan to join me and he bought the same bike. We started preparing the bikes around April. New tires, bearings, oil, chains. Whatever was needed.

Jan showing off the classic Charley Boorman stunt.
    20200405_183551.jpg
    IMG-20200320-WA0009.jpg
    20200619_155214.jpg

The last day before leaving we had to give a presentation to Jan's mother. She has not been very supportive so to say about this whole idea to ride around Europe in corona times. So after the presentation we where ready to leave!

At my parents house the day we left.
    We made some custom merino sheepskin covers. Super comfy to sit and sleep on.