1290 SAR dog build

Discussion in 'Hard. Core. (1090/1190/1290)' started by random1781, Sep 17, 2020.

1. random1781

random1781 Been here awhile Supporter

Oddometer:
    A couple people have asked about how the setup I use for my dog to ride on the bike. Since I'm new to the 1290, a lot of parts are backordered, and this is on going project, I figured I'd make a dedicated post about it.

On my old GS, I didn't really need to do much for a decent setup. There was so much space with the stock aluminum cases that essentially all I did was replace the rear seat and rack with the BDCW Helo Pad, bolt together a backrest with a couple brackets and aluminum stock, bungee a bed on, and looped in some slings to secure him in. On this setup he sat perpendicular to the bike, stretched along the panniers. He had enough space to move around a bit, lie down, sit up, etc. but had limited reach because of the tethers.

This isn't the case with the 1290. I wanted to get rid of the bloat I had on the GS, so no hard cases, no things jutting out the side, and ideally something modular. He's now sitting in line with the bike, which means less space for him, but also better protection from the elements and I think he's boxed in better.

To get up and running ASAP, I came up with an initial design that's ugly but works pretty well. Ignoring the trial and error, it's really simple and doesn't require a whole lot:
    • 4-5 ft. 1" aluminum angle
    • 4x M8 bolts, washers, and nuts. I think I got M8x60.
    • 4x 1" spacers for the M8 bolts
    • 2x 8" metal brackets
    • Cheap plastic dog kennel
    I cut the angle into two 27" pieces (you could probably get away with a bit shorter) to use as a frame for the kennel. These will be bolted on to the stock rear rack with the flat side up, extending as far back as possible, and using the spacers to provide support, basically like this:

4032-3024-max.jpg