19 Days on a Nine-T

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by Motorambling, Nov 1, 2019.

1. Motorambling

Motorambling Sometimes I Ramble Sometimes I Ride

Oddometer:
    Hey Guys,
    I just returned from an 11 state tour of the western US and thought everyone here might enjoy the trip. I packed up my BMW scrambler with enough gear for every season as well as supplies for off the grid camping and rolled out of Wisconsin. I had about 6k miles on the bike and no off-road experience with it yet but had dressed her up with Hepco-Becker panniers, Wunderlich hand guards, engine guards, throttle lock and windshield. IMG_0847.JPG fullsizeoutput_7c3.jpeg IMG_0198.JPG
    Colorado is one of my favorite states and was my first destination. Cinnamon
    Pass and Ophir Pass are known for their rookie-level terrain. Since I was a newbie at off-roading this machine and riding solo, I chose those two mountain passes as my first experience. Exceptional scenery but the downhill was less than kind on the Telluride side of the Ophir summit. :muutt:doh Lake City to Silverton took about 2.5 hours including my photo opp stops. Silverton to Telluride took about the same due to my crashing and bashing downhill adventure. There is one section of super loose large rocks that are not motorcycle-friendly but the rest of the ride is spectacular and includes a few small but fun water crossings. r6yIhYgFQw6utfq6pV1uUA.jpg MNlxfITuRuOrfXx3+7lxow.jpg zfy6Ou+dQwSFx0z6gRt+AA.jpg TLYHTXGGTCeJQcmSErPz%g.jpg zPEeUedyScWaqpAehRmaAg.jpg W6pbw0FQQVyiPyl916c6Qw.jpg oM9AydxERUuu%Qz53%ayyQ.jpg
    krioneris2, mnTwin, aai and 48 others like this.
  2. Bullseye

Bullseye Mr. Bad Example Supporter

Oddometer:
    :lurk:lurk:lurk
    Love this route, you hit a lot of good stuff.
    Looking forward to seeing more.
    GF-kam and Motorambling like this.
  3. Motorambling

Oddometer:
    6O0iC%3xTR+ARcut3Ub0Rg.jpg OFJcx2SiRrmt4cjxn2gqqQ.jpg r+skhDLVSiKXBkkXIurN%w.jpg