1974 Honda XL175

Discussion in 'Old's Cool' started by NOVAngler5, May 31, 2012.

1. NOVAngler5

NOVAngler5 n00b

Oddometer:
    Hello all. I'm new to this forum and the world of motorcycles. I was hoping I may be able to find some buying advice on a 74' HondaT X175 I'm looking at. The bike is in great shape, just over 2,000 miles. Everything is shiny and new looking. Even has the original tires on the bike still. The man is asking for 1300.

I'm a graduate student looking for my first bike, and want to ensure I am not getting ripped off (which I tend to believe I'm not as the guy seemed very trustworthy selling the bike). He kept saying he was pretty confident he could sell the bike for 2000 on ebay but wanted to just find a local buyer.

I do have pictures I'd love to send (wasn't able to attach to this post). Thank you so much in advance for any words of wisdom and advice on whether or not that is a good deal for the bike.
  2. zcooney

zcooney Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    The kick spindle likes to break on the XL175's and are tough to find replacements for. I wouldn't pick it for an everyday rider, and if you do, bump start it as much as possible.
  3. FistFullofDirt

FistFullofDirt whistle whistle whistle

Oddometer:
    Well 1300 seems a little steep, but the prices on these 70s Honda machines have gone through the roof. If the muffler is still in good shape that could be a huge selling point. Not easy to find, I had to cobble one together and it is starting to blow through again.

But otherwise fun bike! I ride mine to work every day and it has been fine. Very little to go wrong with it and it gets good mileage if that is what you are looking for. Not much power, but it zips around town and is fun on country roads. Wouldn't ride it at all on the highway however.

Maybe replace the tires if they are originals, never know what dry rot has done to them. For 60 bucks you could be riding the *%$@ out of it with no worries.

I say go for it!
  4. Bleary